Would You Like To Know What a Buddhist Monk Does All Day? (Video)

in #til7 years ago (edited)

Today I visited the Thiên Mụ Pagoda (Heavenly Lady Pagoda), which is a 400 year old temple in the city of Huế in Vietnam.



Thiên Mụ Pagoda

Within the temple grounds there is a monastic centre where the novice monks can often be seen involved in their daily activities; writing caligraphy, tending to the garden or simply chanting.



THE SCHEDULE

Upon one of the walls I saw the daily schedule for the apprentice monks, so I asked our guide to translate it for me. I thought this may be of interest to others, so I made a short 2 minute video. In the video you will also see my wife translating it to Thai for her companions. You will see that it is a long day of devotion that many of us would not be able to handle. There is also little free-time or food.

I had always wondered what monks do all day, and now for this temple at least I have a better understanding.



I'm currently steeming on the fly from Vietnam:
Hai Van "Top Gear" Pass
Rickshaw in Hoi An
Bamboo Bicycles
Anthony Bourdain Baguette
Secret Garden Restaurant


Click here to:
dd8bd8753d41da7.gif

Sort:  

I felt chanting for a minute :) enjoy your trip

Thanks, I'm having a great time. Vietnam is amazing.

Beautiful shots once again! Nice touch including the video. Unfortunately, I don't have sounds right now, but I'll definitely revisit this later. I've always fancied myself going the way of the monk. Perhaps near the twilight of my existence.

Thanks. It is not uncommon for people to enter the monkhood for short periods to see if it is for them or not.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66095.77
ETH 3184.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.12