When Your Tour Guide in Vietnam Takes You Down This Dark Alley, What Will you Find?

in #food8 years ago

I must admit that for a moment I found myself wondering if I was going to wake up in a bathtub full of ice with your kidneys missing. I mean it was my first night in town, and i didn't know this guy.



But then you arrive here...



Secret Garden

The aptly named "Secret Garden Bar & Restaurant" is hidden down a dark and dirty alley in the old part of historic Hoi An town. But, what a revelation when you arrive. Soft music greets your ears, dark timber furniture and white linen tableclothes adorn the dining area. As you sit pleasantly among the tropical plants sipping your first ice-cold cocktail and think how you would have never found this place without some local knowledge and guidance.



THE FOOD

I am a fan of Vietnamese food as I find the flavours softer and more subtle than those in Thai or Chinese food, so I was excited to see what we were served. Our group had a set menu that included the following:

THE MENU

THE DISHES

Water Spinach Salad

Fish in Clay Pot

Grilled Beef with "lolot"

Tapioca Pie

THE DRINKS

Lime Margarita

Saigon Special Beer

The Experience:

Although i prefer solo travel, sometimes a tour has its advantages. Tonight was one of those times. I'll be steeming more about some of the individual dishes served tonight shortly, stay tuned...


Click here to:
dd8bd8753d41da7.gif

Sort:  

Nice, authentic and some great food shots. Kuudos!

Haha, I loved the entry! Great dramaturgy, great piece, thanks for sharing. Upped and resteemed :)

Love how you drew me in to your tour with the opening line. Love the Secret Garden and Margariti. Great post!

thanks, I certainly didn't expect to find such a lovely restaurant up that alley.

I hope they didn't overcharge for such small sized servings... I'd starve to death.
that "beef" is not even enough for a sandwich.
Here... Eat until you're full:
Nothing worse than leaving a restaurant still being hungry.

thanks for your comment. Most dishes in Asia are smaller portions but there are more of them. As you'll see in this meal, there were 2 starters and 3 mains plus rice.

I also love Vietnamese food... but I tend to find a favorite dish and stick to it. In my case, it is a large bowl o Pho (of the chicken persuasion), consumed at one of a couple local Vietnamese restaurants.

The hostess and staff there always make me feel like family.😄😇😄

@creatr

Pho is great. My favourite Vietnamese food is Banh Mi, which are the baguettes. I'm hoping to get one today.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61740.86
ETH 3453.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51