You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Today I learned Steemit had turned into an episode of The Walking Dead

in #til8 years ago

Hey Thomas, didn't read the whole article yet, but did read most of the comments and I'm really interested to hear more as a Steemit newbie. I've been pretty pumped about the platform, but it also sounds like there are kinks and maybe things have changed since you signed up.

All this stuff about bots voting is new to me and I would definitely hate to see content geared towards only that aspect, but for sure, I can see some of the clutter that makes it hard to find good original stuff. I guess I'll just keep upvoting and following things that ring true to me and hopefully that's a good start until I learn more.

Thanks for your conscious actions!

Andy

Sort:  

Hey, thanks for your comment. Connecting with others is the best way to learn how this all works. When I first came here I was also a bit lost, and I'll admit I'm still learning a few things, but over time we each find our own way to use the platform.

Yes, I'm not one for automated voting because I believe it devalues our curation overall, even though I've noticed some bots provide me with rewards from time to time. I think it destroys the purpose of creating our own individual place when some users have an unfair amount of stakes(accounts/power), I feel it destroys equality overall. In saying that, not all bots here are malevolent, and there's not as many as you may think. Most of them have been made by those who wish to provide rewards but don't have the time to distribute their votes, so they create bots to do it for them while still overseeing the content those bots are voting on. The community monitors these things through the chat channels, such as on discord and on steemit.chat. Really, the community as a whole is what makes this click. So, in saying that, if ever you experience things that you dislike, don't be afraid to speak your opinion. You'll find that the truth is welcomed here, as we're all watching.

The best of advice I can give you is to be yourself and take your time to find out how to put that self out there to an audience. You'll find over time that you'll create a following that enjoys you for being you. Nothing is more validating than the honest validation from peers. Not that you need it in life, but it is a nice thing to have. And, if we keep spreading the same message, more and more will choose to bring themselves to the platform, rather than trying to interpret the expectations of others.

Keep connecting with people on here, it's the best way to spend your time in my opinion.

Peace

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67563.69
ETH 3470.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68