I experimented with Tie Dying - first time since the 70's!

in #tie-dye7 years ago

Newtown High SchoolClass of 1975.png

graphic made on canva dot com with a background photo (photo license free to use, share, or modify - even commercially) of Joan Byez and Bob Dylan https://upload.wikimedia dot org/wikipedia/commons/3/33/Joan_Baez_Bob_Dylan.jpg


I loved art, theater, music, and foreign languages when I was in High School. I was in the class of '75. I remember a lot of the art projects, because they were fun.

I remember that making a tie dyed shirt was a huge project that took days, was very messy, and came out great. It was a very colorful and "groovy" time! LOL

I still like tie dyed things. I have had a few shirts that I bought in stores over the years to wear when I felt like being casual and bright.

I decided to start painting shirts as a hobby. I couldn't find colorful painted shirts that I really liked anymore, so I decided to start fresh and learn what was out there.

My first test was with a tie dye kit. It had something like 48 beautiful colors. I tested them first on shirts that I had. I didn't realize that once you started using a bottle, you had less than 24 hours to use it up or the dye would not work anymore. I did my first experiment in the bathroom with shirts on plastic storage container tops as a surface. I made such a mess!!! But the next day, I had beautiful shirts from half of the bottles in the kit.

IMG_20170609_191955_094.jpg

First batch Tie dye slrts i made for myself to wear.jpg

I really had fun the day that I did the last batch. I brought out shirts and the last bunch of dye bottles, some sheets and pillowcases as well. I took everything out to the front lawn and did kind of a Jason Pollack painting session. I even tie dyed a favorite white teddy bear that friends sent me when I was in the hospital just before Christmas for my Open Heart surgery!!

IMG_20170609_192407_129.jpg

IMG_20170610_162052_100.jpg

Second batch of tie dye shirts I made for my own use.(1).jpg

Second batch of tie dye shirts I made for my own use..jpg

18951381_10154849866595805_1992564896802726358_n.jpg

It is hard to see the different colors in the photo of the teddy bear, but it is really cute.

Even though I did this artistic messy session outside and cleaned up with the hose, I was branded with colors everywhere for days.

Can you tell I tried to tiie dye some shirts today.jpg

My legs and arms looked just like my hands did for about 4 or 5 days!

I am enjoying my tie dyed shirts, and I think that I am done with that mess for now. LOL. I have been buying a variety of acrylic fabric paints, and studying ideas on Pinterest. I will show you what I make next when I have some time.

Have a great end of summer (if you are in the Southern Hemisphere - winter!)

Hugs,

Sally

Copy of Steemit Hugs all around the world--from @sallykwitt.png

Copy of -Bruce and Sally Witt Sally K Wittabout.me%2Fsallykwitt.png

Sort:  

I saw your post in my facebook group Seemit Community. I have decided to upvote it for its quality. Thanks for sharing!

Thank you so much @stea90

@OriginalWorks Mention Bot activated by @sallykwitt. The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @sallykwitt to be original material and upvoted it!

OW2.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

For more information, Click Here!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by SallyKWitt from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Thanks for the visit @clixmoney!!

Congratulations @sallykwitt! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

nice post! enjoy my upvote. i am following you! thanks for upvote, keep in touch

Thanks so much @kinani. I appreciate your attention.

thanks reply,keep in touch

Nice stuffs. Rebloged.

Very nice of you @praise-eu. Thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63247.38
ETH 3242.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90