Goodwill Outlet Income Experiment - Thrifting, Picking, & Finding Profit Day 20 - Slim Pickin's II

in #thrifting6 years ago (edited)

Adventures in thrifting income from the pay per pound Goodwill - Day 20.

We are officially 2/3rds of the way through this 30-day challenge. 20 days down, 10 to go.

And Today was another day of basically striking out.

What can I say? I can't make the good stuff appear, if it is there it is there and I will probably find it. If it isn't, well then I guess I come away with very little.

Feast and famine is sometimes the name of the game when you are a thrifter.

Today is April 6th and it is day 20. Let's see what I found this Friday.


IMG_5870.JPG

I'm only currently listing the Dyson DC17 vacuum dust bin canister. At least it is an OK profit after shipping and fees. The whole vacuum was a little bit messed up, but I did think about buying it and taking it apart and selling it for replacement parts. That seemed like a whole lot of work and time and I have a lot of things that require my time.

So I passed on that idea.

I found another pair of the Levi Carpenter shorts. This one is my size though, so I am keeping it for myself.

Other things are a screwdriver and a few pieces of sandpaper for my workbench.

I found a few bits and pieces. An incomplete amount of Scrabble dice, regular dice, and vintage Clue murder weapons.

About that Clue, check this really old box.

Old Clue Board Game Box.jpg

I didn't buy the whole game because it didn't have the board, but inside was this old advertisement for other Parker Brothers games.

I thought it was really neat and has a cool retro vibe, so I took that ad. Check it out.

Old Parker Brothers Board Game Ad 1.JPG
Old Parker Brothers Board Game Ad 2.JPG
Old Parker Brothers Board Game Ad 3.JPG
Old Parker Brothers Board Game Ad 4.JPG
Old Parker Brothers Board Game Ad 5.JPG
Old Parker Brothers Board Game Ad 6.JPG
Old Parker Brothers Board Game Ad 7.JPG
Old Parker Brothers Board Game Ad 8.JPG

I've never heard of some of those games! I would like to see a few of them up close, especially that Monopoly guy game "Rich Uncle."


Sales!

Sales Day20.jpg

I've almost sold all of that vintage computer software already. Man, I really enjoyed that find.

I also sold that Dark Star VHS, the Srixon putting discs, and the Keith Urban guitar lessons on DVD. That DVD was the best profit margin of today.


Day 20 Totals

  • Total Spent Today: $3.78

  • Running Total Spent: $315.43

  • Total Listed Price Today: $32.99

  • Running Total Listed Price: $3947.54

  • Total Sales: $1421.20

  • Total Profit: $873.27

As always, tomorrow is a new day and a new thrift!

Follow me to see how much I can earn in one month from the Goodwill Outlet.

Sort:  

I think, if i am not mistaken, that is the last good screwdriver craftsman made. Lucky find!

I am sure someone will want the dust bin. But, when will they want it?

You are right, it is that Craftsman one!

Yea, much of what I get are 'slow burns.' I will write an update a month after this challenge ends with how much more sold and how much more profit rolled in.

There are some serious professional thrifters who frequent my local Goodwill Outlet. The board games are almost always just boards and no pieces. By the time I get to the vacuum cleaners, they've already been cannibalized of all useful parts and attachments.

One interesting phenomenon I've noticed in my three visits is that when the employees wheel out a new bin, the poor guys have to practically fight off the customers in order to get the bin in place. A swarm of thrifters descends upon the new bin and picks it practically clean in minutes. I don't think they're all pros--a lot of them appear to be bargain shopping for their homes or their grandkids. I'm not much of an elbower-in to claustrophobic shopping situations, so I've kept my distance thus far. I think I will bring my husband next time. He's better at dominating space.

Still, I have found a bunch of good stuff in the bins that the pros have already been through.

Oh yeah, when the employees 'release' the new bins it is like feeding time at the zoo. It's too crazy for me as well.

During my visit today they did not bring out any new bins, so maybe all the remaining ones had already been hit very hard.

Who in the hell actually buys vintage computer software and VHS's? How would you even run vintage software?
I don't know if they have a presence where you are but I have an app called estatesales.net that shows me ever estate sale in the area along with directions and pics of what they have. You could probably make a lot better scores than trowling Goodwill.

Vintage computers are an up and coming hobby!

Oh, believe me, I've done it all. Estate sales around here are now the go-to for anyone looking to make a buck. The estate sales know it and prices are high and they are still crowded.

I can sometimes make a little by grabbing any of the big discounts at the end of the sale, otherwise it is trying to fight the crowds and get a number. But that means getting there at 0600 for a 0800 opening.

Two things: (1) - I don't do crowds and (2) - I'll stay up all night no problem, but I don't do mornings (unless I am forced like a job).

Looking forward to seeing how this goes for you. Might be wroth taking up for myself!

Hey, it's good side money. It just depends on how much you want a few hundred dollars more every month.

@getonthetrain I have always thought of you as my RICH STEEMIT UNCLE.........Thank you for your UP Votes........

Welcome - remember me when you are big! :D

Wow, I'm hearing these stuffs for the first time.

Thank you for getting a good advice from you to earn and many people will benefit from this post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63493.34
ETH 2578.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79