eBay Sales For August 2018

in #thrifting6 years ago

31 Aug Parcels.jpg

It Was The Best Month This Year!

I was able to take two weeks off of work and focused a bit more into sourcing stuff to sell on eBay. Thankfully, the last few days of the month have been big selling days and that managed to make August the best month so far this year.

eBay is still a part-time thing for me, but I do enjoy the hunt for new and profitable things to sell. I might not sell too many highly priced items, but anything I do find costs me very little. I normally pay 89 cents per pound for the stuff I find.

Still, that is a lot compared to another seller here on Steemit - @steemmatt. He is a full time reseller and mostly finds his stuff on the street. Literally. People throw away hundred and thousands of dollars worth of stuff around him. So he just goes and picks it up!

Anyways, on to the chart for August.

August Sales.png

Total sales of $2,657.23 from 96 items. That's an average sale of $27.68.

I aim to have a profit of at least 50% and can often find my profit be around 60% of total sales. Most of my cost is shipping and then fees.

For instance, I paid $377.11 to thrift stores this month and some of that cost was for personal use items.

My selling costs that are tracked by eBay came out to $784.32. That means a rough profit of around $1,500.

Also, I started picking up DVDs and CDs to sell to the Decluttr app which are sitting in a few boxes right now. I will get to that this long holiday weekend.

All I can say is that reselling is a great hobby. I enjoy the hunt and the sale, it is only the listing and shipping that feel a little like 'work.'

What about you? Do you sell things online? Do you enjoy thrifiting?

Let me know in a comment below.

Sort:  

not actually, but I always wanted to, I will give a consideration

Not sure, well I guess it's just the first push, but I'm really considering it

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh my God! your way of doing things is really inspiring. Online sell in our country has not yet developed but i am trying to explore other alternative to make profitable business that others haven't yet seen.

@getonthetrain BRAVO !!! Standing Ovation !!

your REP is going to be 70 pretty quick.......

Hah, I might be halfway there after a year of being 69!

I am enjoy thrifting @getonthetrain but not listing and shipping which means I don't do it. If I find anything I just pass it to my daughter to sell.

There are loads of things on the streets around here too as many people can't be bothered to take stuff to charity shops or the dump.

In fact I just wrote a post showing one of my finds.

The best one though was a massive blank canvas which I turned into a work of art which now hangs in the house.

Congratulations on your best month this year. 😊

Ya gotta list and ship! That's where the money comes from! :D

Most of my cost is shipping and then fees.

Do you not include the cost of shipping in the sale price?

I mostly have free shipping, but that just means it is built into the price. On eBay you get a bump to your listing in search if you offer free shipping (among other ways).

That's an impressive haul man!

I do see, and take for myself, quite a lot of bits and bobs knocking around outside apartment blocks. Something to consider while crypto is low.

Nice work!

Hey, hustle now and turn any money into crypto and you will realize a much increased gain than when the market turns around.

And if you invest these profits into cryptos or silver, the thousands you are making now, will be millions in a few years.

With a side hustle like this, we all can retire sooner then we would ever think.

The trick has always been to get more income than your expenses and invest the difference. But now, at this point in history, we are going to see huge returns as the money of the planet moves. From stocks, housing and bonds into cryptos and silver.

I miss the posts of your shopping trips. I am happy to see you still selling stuff.

I actually picked up a little silver today. Was passing by the local pawn shop and decided to hop in and see what they had. Most was overpriced, but I did find a Morgan Dollar at a good price.

Gotta love those ebay fees... Yikes! I used to sell on ebay and craigslist when I lived in the US. Now there's not really any way to do that while in Panama. I used to go to a thrift store that would have a bimonthly $.25 sale and I loved doing that. Found all kinds of treasures. :) Thrift stores here are called Ropa Americana and really only have American brand clothing...although some have other items and are bigger. You just never know what you'll find... I'll have to keep checking to see what kind of items you're finding. I love these kind of posts. I used to buy stuff at auctions from a local site and resell some on ebay. Made some money on some wool sweaters that were new in package years ago. We had something like 70 of them sitting around at one time. ;)

Hey, did you end up selling all the sweaters? I don't often find multiples, but when I do it is easy listing! One and done, you know what I mean? :D

They were either sold or used as Christmas gifts. ;)

Keep on producing my man. Good stuff. I sent you a message on discord with a question when you have a moment.

..cool stuff..follow you..up..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56298.58
ETH 2463.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32