Thoughts from a hill´s skyview

in #thoughtsfroma5 years ago (edited)
It´s not that big of a Mountain, but the view still kicks an ok amount of ass, especially if you stay until sunset and you have enough luck to go on a local-less evening. Oh yeah, this is kind of a hidden spot that only locals visit, no place for loud tourists here or at least so I´m told.

One thing I noticed in Stockholm and its surroundings - and from what I´ve heard, most of Southern Sweden - is that the terrain is very plain. This makes it easy to get almost everywhere by bicycle but on the other hand, there isn´t real hiking challenges near the capital city.

And even so, it makes a great place for thinking and reflecting.

A lot of people are used to the loud Eric, the fun nomad, the full of energy traveler but in reality, most of the time I prefer to spend my evenings alone and quiet. No music, no conversations, no interaction other than with myself. This doesn´t mean I don´t enjoy other people´s company but, to be honest, I can get a little overwhelmed when I have to spend a lot of continuous time with someone - or even worse, a group of people.

This usually tends to make people think I don´t like spending time with them just because I´m quiet; oftenly it makes some friends think I´m angry at them because I´m not constantly joking and smiling after a few hours together or several days of constant interaction; more than once people get uncharmed or feel tricked when I show my boring self, but that´s just the real me, the one that likes to watch a sunset and stay quiet, listening to himself and analyzing everything possible.

Of course I enjoy other people´s company and having conversations, it´s just that not all the time I´m in the mood for chatting or joking, or paying attention to other people for that matter.

I know a lot of people can´t go to the gym without music; the vast majority of mom´s can´t cook without watching some TV (you´d be amazed at the number of Mexican Moms my generation grew up with who have a small TV in the kitchen); you´ve experienced it yourself, how many times can you eat alone without watching DTube (God forbids you still watch YouTube)?; you´ve seen it happen to other people, almost nobody can be alone and silent with their thoughts for more than a few minutes.

It´s just the way people are, we can´t help it

It´s just that for me, it´s the other way around. I can´t concentrate with music, I get distracted by background noises and in fact, to actually think correctly and go deep into my thought castle, sometimes I can´t even be with people in the same room.

But I guess you could say that´s wrong. In fact, sociologically speaking I´m a weirdo. We are social beings and we need peer to peer interaction, a sense of belonging and daily humane experiences and that´s exactly what I don´t actively search for. I embrace it when I stumble upon it, I enjoy it when it´s something special like an event or a get together (just like I enjoyed Steem Fest), I have a good time when there´s a family reunion or a friends gathering but, you´ll never see me organize one of them, at least not anymore.

I also think that Steem plays a big role on this lone wolf kind of behaviour. Recently I realized that I prefer driving the subway or the bus by myself so I can start talking to myself and sometimes even put a post together thanks to those thoughs, rather than have a small talk kind of conversation with someone. I prefer to tourist around local places by myself and Imagine stories, scripts or even book plots instead of listening to my companion talk about how X cathedral looks soo cool and shit.

Who knows. I guess that this whole thoughts from a post derived into me, thinking about all of this stuff while being up there in the skyview, and the topic was mainly originated because my companion asked me if I was having a good time, or what was the reason behing me beeing so quiet and thoughtful.

I was having a great time, in fact, one of the best in Stockholm.

WhatsApp Image 2019-05-06 at 06.22.05.jpeg

Sort:  

It is funny how mountains can mean different things to different people depending on where you live. The mountains we have in my state would probably be considered foothills to people out in Colorado. Those do like some great views and it is good that you had some time to reflect and contemplate life. I am also glad you had a good time in Stockholm.

I think you´re right, the word I was looking for was Hill but don´t ask me why, I didn´t thought of it haha but yeah, it is a very small mount to be considered half a mountain :P

Yeah, Stockholm is being nice but soon it will be time to move, too expensive for this broke ass nomad

Haha, I thought you were going to hang out in Russia for an extended amount of time...

Posted using Partiko Android

most of the time I prefer to spend my evenings alone and quiet. No music, no conversations, no interaction other than with myself.

This is interesting words sir @anomadsoul. Thank for sharing it.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Wow, really the corners of the beautiful city of Stockholm. The scenery is very beautiful with a river that divides the city. But I prefer to see your photo, sir, its more interesting than the beautiful landscape background. I think you are very handsome with a short coat that covers your face. enjoy your day, my friend.

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm just the same :) Well, I like music and it doesn't really distract me (well, sometimes), but I don't like talking much either. I like being in my head...

Interesting post, sir!

Thank you so much, miss!

Silence can be your ally or your enemy, depends on what you do with that silence aint that right?

I like space and quiet but have also learned that I need background noise to concentrate because I fall asleep in silence. I blame it on my college years and having roommates making so much noise while needing to study!

Posted using Partiko iOS

That´s so funy, most of my family needs background noise to fall asleep :P
I have college friends who are able to sleep inside a club at 2 am, so I get what you mean haha.

Hi @anomadsoul!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.326 which ranks you at #216 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 15 places in the last three days (old rank 231).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 207 contributions, your post is ranked at #25.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

I’ve visited the same place as you, it is a really nice place!

My favorite place in the whole of Stockholm is the Vasa Museum.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64344.88
ETH 2629.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83