Owning the internet like a boss

in #thoughts5 years ago

Today I finished up for the week and will now start my summer holidays, a week off from all work - that is not related to Steem. It is nice to have a few days off because I feel a little like this dog, yawny.

I hope I can get a sleep in day or two.

We have guests visiting us for a few days and while my days have been spent at work, it has been nice to have people to talk with in the evenings. I can even discuss some real topics with them like, investment, society and blockchain without them looking at me like I am insane.

I was talking to a colleague today who was asking about Bitcoin and why it is even a thing and after explaining a little, he has decided to look deeper into it.

The economic climate is changing even faster than the environmental one and the smartest people are now looking at alternative models. It is from here that they discover and start shifting from and then, the rest follow a few steps behind.

I believe that the next economic collapse is going to be the catalyst for large institutional investments and then, they are going to need it to be more than a store of value. So, they will onboard their business clientele, who will in turn onboard their customer base. This has to happen in order for the institutions to realise their investment potential.

The introduction of institutional wealth will legitimize and add weight and the development will start. What they are going to aim to do is what they have done in the real world, they are going to try and snap up digital real estate so as to own the internet.

And this is the thing, while the Internet isn't owned by anyone, it is owned by the corporations that everyone uses as they own our transactions. They will try to capitalise on this and tokenize their own products and services to take a firm hold on the land.

Will you give up your land in order to live a life of convenience on theirs? I am certain many will and never recognize that the deeds they once held, they signed over through behavior, not by signing a contract.

@smallsteps just fell asleep. Time to join the guests for a quiet drink.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]

Sort:  

I've been trying to explain to possibilities blockchain holds for an new sort of Internet to my friends, I don't think they are ready yet. They seem content to pay for services with their private data. The way they look at me makes me feel like I'm crazy. We have a though road ahead to convince the Facebook generation that their can be another way. Sorry to be off subject a bit but you got me thinking of my circle of friends.

Posted using Partiko Android

The way they look at me makes me feel like I'm crazy.

It is okay, nothing wrong with being the crazy one in a room full of the insane. No worries being off-subject at times, the whole idea here is to generate thoughts.

Ready to see 6 posts per day!

Posted using Partiko iOS

6? - I am going to haejin it with 10! ;D

Will you give up your land in order to live a life of convenience on theirs? I am certain many will

Given the number of people I know who cheerfully tell me that they will always pick convenience or price and could not care less about what else is going on (and are genuinely confused about why anyone would care/think about anything other than number one XD) I will be astonished (and happy XD) if people don't :)

Many do and will over and over again. Until they are suffering enough.
Eventually, all the safety nets fail.

sounds like fun =D

I believe we can mitigate climate change buy creating a VR/AR world like The Oasis from the movie Ready Player One. We already have a monetary system(blockchain) that can be implemented into this VR/AR world and will lessen the amount of our carbon footprint. We already see the shift with physical business locations closing down and move to the internet.

Perhaps this is the solution as 70% of the population are likely to be so unskilled for work (that barely exists) that all they will be able to do is sit and consume. How far away are we from fed cows now?

Yes I can agree with that. With automated jobs and over population issue, this would make that 70% to commute less, need less physical items, and still be able to contribute to the economy even if they are stationary.

How far away are we from fed cows now?

I'm not sure exactly what you mean by that.

And this is the thing, while the Internet isn't owned by anyone, it is owned by the corporations that everyone uses as they own our transactions.

Tokenized

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61586.28
ETH 2569.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55