Is This Why We Can't Live Without Money?

in #thoughts7 years ago (edited)

thoughts-7.png



I just returned from an introspective journey which, as per the norm, provided me with a number of theories and curiosities which I will later have to reflect on further. But there is one concept that I brought back from my mind's journey that I felt worth sharing, and hopefully getting some further opinions on.

Any that have been paying attention to the words leaving their mouths will be aware of the fact that many words which are associated with money are also associated with water. For example;

If you are receiving money regularly then you have an "income stream".

Should you be struggling to make ends meet, then you are said to be "drowning in debt."

Money begins and ends at the "bank," and at that bank we will find a lot of currency. Clearly references to a river.

There's also the fact that if you have a lot of money to spend right now then that is regarded liquidity.

I am sure there are more but they escape me right now, and this is certainly enough to demonstrate my point. So now the question becomes, Why?

The English language is a very interesting one, being constructed using words taken from several others. I very much doubt that during the development of such a complex language, the decision to use similar words to describe water and money was made without a great deal of thought and a clear reason or purpose for doing so.

So while contemplating this, I believe I may have come up with a potential answer. I doubt this is something that I will ever be able to find out for sure, but I still find it interesting and enriching to ponder. If you have an idea of your own, skip to the comments section and share it before reading what I have to say. That way my own theory will not influence your own thought pattern.

The Theory



What is the most important thing we need to survive? I think if you asked that question on Family Fortunes, the survey would say that "water" is one of the top answers. We always hear from NASA how they have discovered a planet with water, and so this means it could have life. We ourselves are made of more than 50% water, and we cannot live for very long without drinking more of it.

So it is undeniable that everyone on this planet understands that water is critical to our survival. We literally cannot survive as a species without it.

I wonder then, if by using similar terminology to describe things associated with money, we are inadvertently ascribing that same importance we know water has, to money. I do not purport myself to be a psychologist by any means, but I have spent enough time in my own mind to understand how it works. So I feel that this is certainly something that could arise subconsciously within someone speaking this language for prolonged periods of time, and that this could very well have been a psychological tool used to sell us on the illusion that money is needed for society to function.

I am curious to know what you thinkers and philosophers feel about this correlation between money and water when viewed through the scope of the English language. Is it a coincidence or not? And if not, what purpose do you think this decision was made to serve?

Sort:  

There are tons of esoteric hidden meanings put into words largely intentional if you ask me.

I've heard of so called "green language" that supposedly speaks to the subconscious as well as the conscious mind both utilized and understood by occultists as a from of mockery on the "profane" or un-initiated. I think there are messages being conveyed in words to have us associate money with life, balance and value.

Mark Passio (former preist of laveyan satanism) has done a couple of great presentations in this subject relating to money and the monetary system.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B9p7YsV83GwgMThGX3NNQ2tlZVk/view?usp=drivesdk

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B9p7YsV83GwgbndQVWczejdVb3M/view?usp=drivesdk

Not sure if these links will work or not, but you can go to whatonearthishappening.com and look for podcast #25 & #26. If you want to give it a listen.

I don't have a ton of free time right now but I will try to check out when I can. I am pretty familiar with Passio though, having seen a number of his lectures. I find what he has to say very interesting more often than not.

Understanable some of his stuff is very in depth. I think there is about 4 hours of audio in those two links.
Definitely worth a listen if you get the time.

This is exactly what I thought before reading your theory: Is it a subconscious belief that we need money like we need water ?

So I am not just high and there is some logic to this theory. That is good news.

Haha Yep, it does make sense to me!

In my native tongue we don't have as many word associations between money and water. Only one comes to mind right now and it has a similar meaning with "money down the drain"...which is the place my money usually ends up!

Yes I was under the impression that this connection was strictly an English language thing. There are a ton of truths about our place as debt-slaves and even property hidden in plain sight and often overlooked, because we don't pay nearly enough attention to the words leaving our mouths.

The notion of Capital is something that has been on my mind lately as well. Your comparisons of water and money are thought provoking and I think you could extend the metaphor further. We need water because its intrinsic properties are necessary for the functioning of life. We need capital because its intrinsic abstract properties allow it to be exchanged for ANY good or service. Water and money are both universal but for different reasons. Water for its physical properties, and money for its abstract properties.

Thanks for elaborating on the concept. Makes a lot of sense too.

You touched on my favorite topic. Knowledge of the cash flow must have every successful person. Thank you for sharing!

High seas of commerce...actually I think one of Monte Python's movies dealt with this. Admirality court-which is a naval term and also brings water to mind.

Without having read your theory, but possibly being influenced by your title, I would definitely wonder if they want us to equate money with something that we can't live without, that in fact makes up a large percentage of our own bodies.

If you take the symbol for the dollar (which means curse by the way), and lay it on its side, it is a sine, cosine (waves) And the dollar sign has changed, there was once one line going through it, now there are two (double entry book keeping)

Also a lot of these terms can be equated to electricity.

The old ledger based system- ledger-lie, lying down because you have no standing- is now being transformed into a block chain.

In the last pirate's of the caribbean movie, you had to kill the trident (indenturement-name/address/birthdate) If you learn how to do it you can 'walk on the water' (instead of drowning in debt, or being underwater, you will have 'standing'. ) If you go to an administrative court and you have no 'standing' you must be lying.

Just some things Howie and I have talked about along the way :)

I am somewhat confused by the last paragraph, but I am with you on the rest. I know how the Uniform Commercial Code has a lot of references to water too. Also how you are birthed from your mother's waters. with the help of a Doctor etc.. It is all pretty interesting. Still find it hard to believe there isn't a reason for all this shit.

I remember you speaking of something about the English language being a "Dog Latin," which was developed for slaves. Do you have any decent links on this so I can check out the information for myself and decide what I think of it?

Oh yeah, I think it was Tony I was talking to about that. How our ancestors contracted themselves into an indenture(ment?) not sure the right word there, that has lasted to this day.

I will see if I can find that information for you. Probably won't be until later, my brother and family are coming down to mom and dad's so I'll be out for the day. I know Howie initially came across it in an old dictionary, about seven years ago.

I did find this guy explaining it well, but you probably want literature, so I will see what I can find.

I see now what you meant. I understand the difference between standard lettering and all capitals, for the latter refers to your strawman as a means of conducting trade, because only a corporation can do business with a corporation, not a living being. I had never heard of that practice being referred to as Dog Latin though.

I did notice something in this video at 11:23 that I feel weakens the point this man is attempting to make about language. He states that "GOVERNAL-GENERAL" being written as such is indicative of this being Ancient Latin, but on the image he shares to stress this point, "Governor-General" can be seen written directly underneath the larger text that we are supposed to look at. This hurts my ability to trust in this information, and I truly wonder if he noticed and just thought no one else would, or if he somehow overlooked that before making the video. Either way is rather funny to be fair lol.

Actually, I thought he was making a point about how confusing it becomes, what I would call jumping from one jurisdiction to another. He meant for people to see the all capital GOVERNOR-GENERAL and the upper/lower case Governor-General underneath. They mean different things. Like all names, if in caps it means one thing, upper/lower another...unless you're referring to the dash? I'd have to re watch the whole thing. But I do remember him saying how confusing it gets after zooming in on that.

Great observation here @son-of-satire, I will also state that 'cash flow' fits perfectly in here as well.

And don't forget DuckTales - you could be 'swimming in money' like Uncle Scrooge.
ducktales-money-bin.jpg

Good point that you've found that water is so related to money in the English. The water in Chinese word, 水, has so much to do with money too. We have so many proverbs and sayings that is refer the 水 as money and wealth.

I really like you because you are a very intelligent person. Keep going. Your thoughts are very complex

Hell, every other money quote has a water reference :/ That's a strangely interesting point that you have brought up.


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62676.37
ETH 2581.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72