Are we too hard on ourselves?

in #thoughts6 years ago

I often read about the inner dialogue as being very important for our well-being. The constant story we tell ourselves influences a lot of our world views to our confidence. So being hard with yourself is detrimental to being well-adjusted...in theory.

I grew up- like many of us - in an environment that pushed me to be better and pretty much not accepting failure. Why can't you get a better mark when X could?

And as an adult (heh) I still feel that my every failure could or should be prevented and I am kicking myself a lot when I do something stupid. This is very difficult cause I fail a lot.

k.jpg

I lately tried to asses as objectively as possible if I am maybe just not being fair to myself and maybe I should give myself more slack. Maybe.

But truth is that I can't. I just think I should learn and do better next time but a lot of my mistakes could have been prevented. I should have.

The worst is when I disappoint people. I hate being the one who disappointed someone and I have a hard time making peace with it. I always try to make it right when possible but most of all I spent a lot of time wishing that I would have done something else, something different. I go over the whole scenario imagining that I did this or that and prevented it all. I can't. The past is dead and set in stone. And that's what gets me. Infinite circular thinking to no conclusion. Just pain.

I am not really sure I should stop this. I mean, yeah, is not doing me any good but I think a level of penance and punishment is warranted and can keep you humble and fair. I can't just waltz away from doing something stupid and say "oh well".

It's a cross to bear. But also, it's maybe a strength in the end. I am not sure, moments like these when the feeling is strongest, feels more like a never ending punishment.

I don't know.
I just don't.

Sort:  

Downtime’s we have to be or we will let our goals go . You have to want success as much as you want to breath

And as an adult (heh) I still feel that my every failure could or should be prevented and I am kicking myself a lot when I do something stupid. This is very difficult cause I fail a lot.

Yes! I was having a discussion yesterday about not doing things you want to do and I think a lot of the reason is that in the past a lot of the things I wanted to do that I did were totally stupid and or failures. A lot of my ideas are terrible so that makes it harder to go through with them.

yeah but if one in 100 is great might be worth it!

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

As I see it, yes

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

I agree with you. I have done many mistakes in life but then those mistakes thought me a lot of things but still such mistakes could have been prevented if.... only if. Sad, I could just only say "if only."

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64160.97
ETH 3145.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86