You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 50/50 and then some

in #thoughts6 years ago

Recently, my content generated roughly 50SP for curators over the span of seven days. I average about 1 post per day. So I lost 50SP to curators, which is fine with me, I admire the system, but I made nearly 50SP in curation rewards because I manually vote. That basically means I'm getting the full value of my content, sometimes.

If more were given an incentive to vote, we'd see more votes on our work. Higher rewards but we'd lose 50%, but those who were smart and powered up could easily get that back through curation rewards, like I did. This creates a positive feedback loop, if people actually knew about it. 50/50 sounds like a loss but in reality, if you put it the time and effort, it could mean more.

Sort:  

absolutely. What people forget is that if the 50% return is going to manual curators, those that power up have increased value while those who rape the system and sell have decreasing value. If people would have put some of their earnings into SP, when prices increase their vote value will outstrip what they sold the Steem for now but, everyone has to live off all of their Steem.

I want people who read and vote on my content to benefit from reading and voting on my content in the hope that they will come back and read and vote on my content again someday. I don't care what people say, quality and consistency will always matter in the long-term view.

I admire the curation reward system. Way back in the day Napster got in trouble and Metallica made headlines. People wanted entertainment for free, and artists thought it wasn't fair they should have to work for nothing. Here, people get paid to enjoy free content. Do you think those people back then thought they would ever see a world where they'd get paid to download their mp3 files? They would have laughed. Well, here we are, and since most people seem to forget history, many do not realize how profound and revolutionary this platform truly is.

And of course a content producer has to work and be consistent. We all know what happens to those one hit wonders.

Well, here we are, and since most people seem to forget history, many do not realize how profound and revolutionary this platform truly is.

Most have no idea about what went on. Napster? Most here still had single digit ages at that point. People expect revolutions to be swift and painless, except those who have lived through them so the profundity of this system is lost to entitlement and expectation. People create unnecessary drama here.

I wonder how many people these days could truly be professional independent artists running from gallery to gallery facing rejections and then being proud of hanging their work in the local cafe?

Those rejections sting. That was me on Jasper Ave then rounding the corner onto 124th in Edmonton. I asked and one incident I'll never forget. I'm inside a gallery, not too fancy, but things were pricey. I asked if she'd be interested in digital art. She scowled and said, "If I want to buy a poster, I can to to Walmart and pick one up for 99 cents." I walked for over two hours all the way home, pissed off at the entire world, because I simply couldn't get my foot inside the door, anywhere. If some folks here think people are elitist and stick to their own, try the real world. Hundred times worse. Thanks for triggering a memory! That walk changed my life.

My dad was an artist from a what was a war torn country at the time and worked his ass off from a child to get to somewhere he deemed better. I can't say I have an easy life but, I also don't fully understand how bad things could actually be.

One thing is for certain, I can't keep running this way forever.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60773.82
ETH 2378.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57