Thoughts and Bill Murray - 3/28/16

in #thoughts8 years ago

I was thinking about the movie, The Man Who Knew Too Little. Bill Murray's character believes that all the dangerous and scary stuff going on around him is all pretend, just acting, so he's able to be confident, brave, and goofy the whole time. Why wouldn't he? It's all pretend.

That's how I felt when I was planning that fake trip to Ireland. I didn't have to worry about money, travel time, whether or not the castle I chose to stay in was even remotely close to the places I wanted to see. It was all pretend. What freedom!

I wish I could view life a little more like that. I wish I could ease up and not take everything so seriously. Life, after all, is pretty amusing.

We work, work, work for money, money, money for stuff, stuff, stuff that does nothing, nothing, nothing. And we stress, stress, stress all the while. And then we die.

And I take that shit seriously!

No, from now on I will work for the money I need to have a place to live, enough to eat, and payoff my student loans, and that's it. The rest of the time I just want to play and enjoy life. No more pining for a house. No more bitterness towards the place we live now. I would much rather live here than anywhere else if the cost was more.

Recently my dad reminded me of this: "there are many rich people that live poor lives, and many poor people that live rich lives." Thanks, Dad.

Sort:  

Congratulations @modernmusings! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @modernmusings! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57329.79
ETH 2914.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67