You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 50/50 and then some

in #thoughts6 years ago

The feeling of loss really comes when the payout value says they voted 100 dollars but took 50 back, doesn't it?

This is one of the reasons I wish that the payout in the interface reflected author rewards. Right now, it reflects the post's total projected rewards, from which both curation and beneficiary rewards will be deducted. After HF20, this is now even more of an issue, since the curation split is effectively fixed at 25%.

Why not do this deduction up front, so people know what to expect? I am willing to bet we would hear a lot less bitching. We're not trying to hide anything either. We can still show the total amount and breakdown in the dropdown, but the green number there under the post should reflect what the author will actually receive.

Sort:  

We shouldn't be asking much of Steemit.com.

These are things that literally any frontend can change.

I would ask Busy.org or Steempeak first.

If the change takes well all the other frontends will make the same alterations.

Ah, well, I wouldn't be asking anything of them but permission to merge. This is a change I'd be comfortable making to Condenser myself. I would actually be surprised if I were the first person to think of this. Someone has probably already conceived and implemented this idea separately; the question is if TPTB would accept it or not.

The reality is that most people are still using Steemit and it is still, for better or worse, the main gateway to the platform. I certainly support the development of and migration to alternative gateways, and I'd be happy to see this change made in those places too, but for me it is important to make the change where it will have the biggest impact; that place is Steemit.

I think that in time Steemit itself will kill steemit.com, perhaps with @ned's new front end. This way they can bring in a raft of better options and essentially clean slate it and possibly tie some new rules into it through an SMT.

I would say, Steemit.com is doomed unless they sell it off and it gets revamped fully.

That is a bold prediction, @tarazkp. I am intrigued. I actually hadn't considered the possibility.

If they do that, someone will be hosting "Steemit Classic" somewhere, and if they don't, I will. I have tried the other interfaces and I just don't like them. Condenser is my jam.

Don't listen to me about anything UI/UX though. Never, ever trust a developer's taste with these sorts of things.

That is a bold prediction, @tarazkp. I am intrigued. I actually hadn't considered the possibility.

I am a bold predictor and shirker of responsibility. If only the blockchain wasn't immutable ;)

If they do that, someone will be hosting "Steemit Classic" somewhere, and if they don't, I will.

Will it have IRC?

Never, ever trust a developer's taste with these sorts of things.

Monkeys, the lot of them :P

Yep. there is actually no need for it to have ever been put there at all and many people coming in do not understand curation. Many are here for months and don't.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63955.44
ETH 2745.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65