You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Will it ever get better?

in #thoughts5 years ago

The anxiety behind your thoughts are the reason I never fathomed having a child. Its a view that I've held since I was very young.

Empirical evidence and pragmatism is so often mistaken for "un-optimistism", or seeing the glass has half empty.

We are alive now. We can't change the past, but we certainly can influence the direction the future takes to some extent.

I won't sit on my nihilism soapbox all the time, but its a rather comfortable vantage point...

Sort:  

I'd say that people thinking things can't improve or are only getting worse dates back 2 million years. Life may indeed be meaningless other than the meaning ascribed it by the individual who experiences it.

I can't even prove anyone other than me exists, yet I think about the lives of grandchildren my subconscious might create in the future.

I prefer to err on the side of hope.

There's overwhelming evidence that you exist, but there can never be definitive proof. 🤫

But the evidence could all be fabricated by a single mind, our own. The best evidence that my mind isn't creating the world is, I would have given myself a better body ;D

Do you have proof of this claim that there can't be definitive proof?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 69527.07
ETH 2514.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55