You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How short is equal

in #thoughts5 years ago

This is a tough one. Currently, large investors in the platform can give my posts big boosts so only 1 vote from 1 of them can get my posts to about $2 - $3 if I get lucky. If everyone has about 3000 SP I'd need to count on a lot more eyes viewing my posts, but at the same time the "real" votes I guess may also be worth more (unless they give me lower percentage votes).

I have a feeling the samething thing would happen on here that happens on competitive video games. You have the talented people that have the time to put in that will rise to the top and become the pro gamers or top streamers. You have the lazy people that don't have the time that will either pay to win or quit after complaining "it's too hard or unfair". Then you'll have the people that don't have the time or aren't as talented that will be your "average" gamer that may one day get "lucky" and rise above the pack through hard work and dedication.

Those who currently have a small amount of Steem Power that were given 3000 Steem would probably sell. Those that have a lot of Steem and are reset to 0 then given 3000 may sell from frustration. I have a feeling a lot of low dolphins / soon to be dolphins would be the main group to stick around as they benefitted or were hurt the least. After all do you really value something you don't have to work for?

Instead of a resource hurdle for newcomers there would be a respect hurdle. Back in my day I had to work years for what you're given when you first sign up why should I vote your psots.

The trending page would become interesting as I think it would take bid bots a while to get back on your feet and small communities I think would get a little boost as well to use for currating those in their community.

I think for a small period of time this place could be beautiful with a quality trending page, maybe a promotion page that has a point again, and with lots of active curration (in my ideal dream world), before bid bots actually get on there feet and people can grow there SP to start "abusing" self votes and flags.

I think this would greatly hurt dapps though as they would loose out on a lot of large delegations Not sure if they'd get enough people to delegate smaller amounts to get back to where they once were before the changes. Those who could stick it out though would have a much more loyal and didcated support base as they were able to grow together.

Sort:  

As a note, I was more thinking that no one would actually lose their steem in this hypothetical, just that the same people would start fresh with nothing more than their network.

If everyone has about 3000 SP I'd need to count on a lot more eyes viewing my posts, but at the same time the "real" votes I guess may also be worth more (unless they give me lower percentage votes).

Makes for a challenge for those who had support.

I have a feeling the same thing thing would happen on here that happens on competitive video games.

I agree. Talent will come into it, so will dedication or lack thereof.

Instead of a resource hurdle for newcomers there would be a respect hurdle. Back in my day I had to work years for what you're given when you first sign up why should I vote your psots.

They would have to offer something wouldn't they.

The trending page would become interesting as I think it would take bid bots a while to get back on your feet and small communities I think would get a little boost as well to use for currating those in their community.

The draw on the pool would be distributed equally. How many would immediately delegate their stake? and how many middlemen will set up bots?

Thanks for taking the time with this little thought experiment. =)

For me, I think that 3 years later, the place would look quite similar as many of the same people still wouldn't adjust for the opportunity.

For me, I think that 3 years later, the place would look quite similar as many of the same people still wouldn't adjust for the opportunity.

Completely agree. Hypothetically if this were to happen on a different platform identical to Steem there would no longer be the "ninja mine" event giving the blockchain a little more "credibility" to outsiders, but I think the end result would be essentially the same ecosystem we're seeing currently.

That's why I used the video game analogy, because it essentially happens with new competitive video games. The early adopters do get a small advantage, but eventually, those with the most talent and dedication are the ones that become the pros.

I think I lean towards using Esports analogy as a new one comes out almost yearly, yet the results are almost always the same with the pros, the "average gamers", and the lower tier that complain about not having the time otherwise they'd be just as good as the "pros" or something being "unfair"

The early adopters do get a small advantage, but eventually, those with the most talent and dedication are the ones that become the pros.

And if they have played a similar game before, they can get up to speed fast.

I think that for me I would do much like I have done already and take the workhorse and relationship building pathway as it is a competitive advantage for me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63648.37
ETH 3125.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87