How short is equal

in #thoughts5 years ago

Just for a bit of Friday night fun.

Imagine the Steem system was reset and all current active users in Steem (assume all human - one account) were each given 1,000 liquid Steem in their wallets and the price of Steem is what it is now at 30 cents.

All current posts are wiped away and all have a fresh account slate to begin with.

  • What would happen

  • What percentage would sell

  • What would price do

  • How do people treat newcomers

  • How does it look a year from now

  • Given time, what changes

What would your first moves be? What would you create? Would you create the same type of content? Would you vote for the same witnesses? Support the same accounts? Play the game the same way you are currently playing?

Would you learn anything new?

Now, while imagining this, consider the relationships and goodwill you have built within the community thilus far and whether your place would harm or help you if starting from equal footing at a reset. Think about your skills and talents also.

Given this scenario would you help those you feel deserve it or enact revenge on those you feel have harmed you in the past?

Three years later, are you a Steem force of good, a tyrant or, someone that has no stake whatsoever?

Do you predict you would end up in a better or worse position than you are now?

On a proof of stake platform - would you be able to prove yourself?

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]
(posted from phone)

Add your own questions and considerations if you want. You are free to think for yourself.


View this post on Steeve, an AI-powered Steem interface

Sort:  

Hmmmmm. I think you would probably see a sell off from those who are in locations that are struggling. That’s a decent chunk of cash to someone who is here, busting their ass, and has 64 Steem to their name.

I think anyone who is relatively ok would just hang on and continue to keep trucking along.

My answers are fairly boring and unoriginal at the moment and for that I apologize. It’s freezing cold here currently and all I think my tiny brain is frozen solid. All I can think of is summer.

I think anyone who is relatively ok would just hang on and continue to keep trucking along.

This is part of the issue I think. People come here wanting Steem to make them rich, some have already been doing the work off platform to have a foundation here to begin with.

Nothing wrong with boring. Perhaps you can join @abh12345's circlejerk :D

Heads to github to find Dr Otto bot, finds willing delegator, sits back and watches the SBDs fly in, becomes top 20 witness, delegates 1% of stake to curation team and trends post highlighting this act of kindness.

Lol. i am sure that you would not do that but, I am pretty sure that you would be fine nonetheless :)

I'd like to think i'd take a similar route, but who knows :D

I think you would know where you can gain and what is wasted resources :)

Lol. Love this gif and the movie...which by the way, the sequel is finally happening!

:)

Something to look forward to!

Three years later, are you a Steem force of good, a tyrant or, someone that has no stake whatsoever?

I guess I'd be the same pauper 'humorous' tyrant but with longer silver hair and an even longer beard tickling my navel. };)

With all of that equal stake at your disposal, I think you would be okay ;)

Haha yes, plenty of 'humor stake' still available to waste over here everywhere!! LoL

If all past earnings were wiped away, I would anticipate many would foster resentment. A fresh new crop of Steemians would enter the scene at some point. I do not know how I would handle that. Hmm. Do you see that as possibly happening in the next 12 months??? Interesting. Thanks @tarazkp

Do you see that as possibly happening in the next 12 months???

Not at all. I t is a hypothetical situation and can't ever happen, at least not on Steem.

This would destroy the platform as it would alienate the people that have invested the most time and money on this platform.

This is a tough one. Currently, large investors in the platform can give my posts big boosts so only 1 vote from 1 of them can get my posts to about $2 - $3 if I get lucky. If everyone has about 3000 SP I'd need to count on a lot more eyes viewing my posts, but at the same time the "real" votes I guess may also be worth more (unless they give me lower percentage votes).

I have a feeling the samething thing would happen on here that happens on competitive video games. You have the talented people that have the time to put in that will rise to the top and become the pro gamers or top streamers. You have the lazy people that don't have the time that will either pay to win or quit after complaining "it's too hard or unfair". Then you'll have the people that don't have the time or aren't as talented that will be your "average" gamer that may one day get "lucky" and rise above the pack through hard work and dedication.

Those who currently have a small amount of Steem Power that were given 3000 Steem would probably sell. Those that have a lot of Steem and are reset to 0 then given 3000 may sell from frustration. I have a feeling a lot of low dolphins / soon to be dolphins would be the main group to stick around as they benefitted or were hurt the least. After all do you really value something you don't have to work for?

Instead of a resource hurdle for newcomers there would be a respect hurdle. Back in my day I had to work years for what you're given when you first sign up why should I vote your psots.

The trending page would become interesting as I think it would take bid bots a while to get back on your feet and small communities I think would get a little boost as well to use for currating those in their community.

I think for a small period of time this place could be beautiful with a quality trending page, maybe a promotion page that has a point again, and with lots of active curration (in my ideal dream world), before bid bots actually get on there feet and people can grow there SP to start "abusing" self votes and flags.

I think this would greatly hurt dapps though as they would loose out on a lot of large delegations Not sure if they'd get enough people to delegate smaller amounts to get back to where they once were before the changes. Those who could stick it out though would have a much more loyal and didcated support base as they were able to grow together.

As a note, I was more thinking that no one would actually lose their steem in this hypothetical, just that the same people would start fresh with nothing more than their network.

If everyone has about 3000 SP I'd need to count on a lot more eyes viewing my posts, but at the same time the "real" votes I guess may also be worth more (unless they give me lower percentage votes).

Makes for a challenge for those who had support.

I have a feeling the same thing thing would happen on here that happens on competitive video games.

I agree. Talent will come into it, so will dedication or lack thereof.

Instead of a resource hurdle for newcomers there would be a respect hurdle. Back in my day I had to work years for what you're given when you first sign up why should I vote your psots.

They would have to offer something wouldn't they.

The trending page would become interesting as I think it would take bid bots a while to get back on your feet and small communities I think would get a little boost as well to use for currating those in their community.

The draw on the pool would be distributed equally. How many would immediately delegate their stake? and how many middlemen will set up bots?

Thanks for taking the time with this little thought experiment. =)

For me, I think that 3 years later, the place would look quite similar as many of the same people still wouldn't adjust for the opportunity.

For me, I think that 3 years later, the place would look quite similar as many of the same people still wouldn't adjust for the opportunity.

Completely agree. Hypothetically if this were to happen on a different platform identical to Steem there would no longer be the "ninja mine" event giving the blockchain a little more "credibility" to outsiders, but I think the end result would be essentially the same ecosystem we're seeing currently.

That's why I used the video game analogy, because it essentially happens with new competitive video games. The early adopters do get a small advantage, but eventually, those with the most talent and dedication are the ones that become the pros.

I think I lean towards using Esports analogy as a new one comes out almost yearly, yet the results are almost always the same with the pros, the "average gamers", and the lower tier that complain about not having the time otherwise they'd be just as good as the "pros" or something being "unfair"

The early adopters do get a small advantage, but eventually, those with the most talent and dedication are the ones that become the pros.

And if they have played a similar game before, they can get up to speed fast.

I think that for me I would do much like I have done already and take the workhorse and relationship building pathway as it is a competitive advantage for me.

A big question for me in regards your questions is would I know about the "wipeout." I see two scenarios.

I know about the wipeout.

  • I would be frustrated because my current account is worth more than 1000 Steem.
  • I would be frustrated that my content was not immutable, as promised.
  • I would ask how this was possible. It would sound like a centralized move to me.
  • If I was not so mad that I quite the platform, I would try to overcome my previous mistakes.

I do not know about the wipeout.

  • I would feel blessed to receive so a great gift.
  • I would create content like I do now and try to build authentic relationships.
  • I would have no idea about all of the great relationships I have already mad. I can for the money, but stayed for the community.

I would be frustrated because my current account is worth more than 1000 Steem.

Worth more in USD but what about draw on the pool? It would work on a percentage share and currently, there is ~200 million powered up.

I would be frustrated that my content was not immutable, as promised.

This was meant as a thought experiement where no one actualy had their stake taken away, just the same people here now would have a fresh start with what they know and their relationships.

I would create content like I do now and try to build authentic relationships.

If you have done this up until now, if this did happen you would likely be in a pretty good position.

I see your point. That would be beneficial for me personally, but I can see how people who have invested even more would be upset by losing their large piece of the pie. I don't always agree with the largest stakeholders, but I applaud them for their risk-taking and early adoption.

I realize that this is a thought experiment, and I want to validate you by letting you know it got me thinking. Thanks for your comments and pushing back on what I said in my comments. There are appropriate times to challenge one another to be better and think through important things that are happening in life.

I would definitely do things differently if there was a reset. I have learned a lot, made many great friends, and I hope I have added value as well.

Keep pressing forward and keep Steeming!

Not really sure how it would start given the huge shift but knowing the history of human nature, 80% of the SP would ultimately land in the hands of the top 10-20%.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yep, this is pretty much the rule of it, no matter the conditions to begin with.

I think I would simply keep on doing what I do! 😉

Nothing wrong with that unless, it isn't getting you to where you want to go :) I would be very similar too.

I am perfectly happy with my account and the way I use Steem!

This post has been included in the latest edition of SoS Daily News - a digest of all you need to know about the State of Steem.



You got a 46.94% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @tarazkp!

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 20 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97