I had an IDEA!

in #thought6 years ago


Growing up, I was curious about the world. I wanted to know more, I wanted to know why the wheel turned, why the sun shone, why the wind blew, I wanted to know everything. I learned a lot about the world. I would read a lot about science and stuff, that I became addicted to it, knowledge. But I was not always an honor student as I sometimes considered school as boring, not that it didn't teach me anything, I just realized that they were more focused on the grades and the student ratings that I rarely listened to a lesson because It was fun, but more on I need to memorize this to pass. School was fun and important, But not always. 

I loved knowledge and wisdom, but i'm not really a fan of test papers and grades. I wish the education system changed to make learning fun. Anyways, as I grew up, I realized something. I was a tad different from my friends and everyone. I considered myself weird as I was so accustomed to what I was suppose to think that I found the real me weird. I think differently when I solved problems. 

While in high school, I remember being quite good at math for easily understanding stuff, but sadly I was only shown the tip of the iceberg and to memorize the formulas for the exam. I somehow memorized the formulas and aced my exams but It soon became boring as I cannot dig deeper to how it worked. And then college came, and I realized that math was awesome and I love it.

It was the math I find relating to nature, it was the visualization of math that really captured my attention. Math is beautiful. It was full of power and finesse at the same time. But enough about math.

As I entered engineering, I rediscovered myself in a new light. Being in engineering, I rediscovered my way of finding for solutions. I easily connect ideas and form solutions to problems within the physical laws of our universe. It was quite a home run, and then it hit me. I was very forgetful. 

I would walk on my way home, as I loved to walk, and look around for potential problems to solve. And the fun thing is that I would have a mini debate in my head. First I would suggest a solution, and then I would critique it to find problems to the solutions. This way, I can reduce slip ups in the solutions. But what's more fun is that, when I arrived home, I would sometimes completely forget about the Idea. 

You see, being very forgetful has some benefits. First off, I can re watch My favorite movies and enjoy it all over again, but this time, knowing that that character will not die. Or in the solutions case, I will sometimes realize and altogether new solution to the problem, which wouldn't have occurred if I did not forget and the tried to find it from scratch. 

But now a days, I just carry with me my journal, which I sometimes pull out and do some badly sketched ideas. I didn't really matter about the quality of the sketch, I just liked saving my ideas for later. I don't wish to forget how that light bub lit up anymore.



Sort:  

Congratulations @earlzenius! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60228.69
ETH 2428.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45