You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I might grow an avocado tree after all!

in #thl7 years ago

I currently have 3 small trees about 18 inches tall in pots. They are outside on irrigation for the summer but I will bring them inside for cold with all the other plants. They are about 8 months old and still doing well. I started them all in soil from pits out of avocados from trader joes. I'm pretty sure it takes quite a while for the trees to start to produce, but at least I have plants/trees for color in the house during winter, even without producing.

Sort:  

That's awesome! Oh I hope they continue to do well for you! I'd love to track your progress if you ever post about them in the future.

I have started and killed numerous avocado, mostly trying to get them through winter, but these three made it through fine so I actually am feeling a bit more optimistic. Oldest I have gotten was a two year old but it got hit by a sudden frost and died.

Good luck to you with yours. Eventually you'll get one to grow into a tree, it just takes some trial and error.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56739.93
ETH 2400.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30