You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I think about things like that.

in #think7 years ago

Having recently replaced both my starter and alternator, I note the basic similarity of forms. A central rotating core in a magnetic field. Both motors and generators have this shape, in motors providing electrical energy to the core makes it spin, and in generators, the spinning produces electrical energy.

The Earth is a generator. Also a motor. I don't see much point in making it spin (any more than it already does), but it seems pretty certain that one could simply hang a wire from a balloon and power would flow into it.

I have never read of this being done, although Ben Franklin is supposed to have used a kite (from which experiment I reckon he was quite fortunate to survive. Indeed, I am rather skeptical).

While the wire, being heavy, is a limiting factor, the construction of Shaniqua's house would make that less of a limitation.

Why isn't she charging up a town or two?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.22
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66093.99
ETH 3559.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.13