I think about things like that.

in #think7 years ago



The Ionosphere is charged by the Sun
..............................................................................................................................................................................

blue elves charge the thunderstorms.

the earth spins.

the earth has an iron core.

which causes the dynamo effect

which protects the ecology from 'bad stuff'
but allows enough thru to charge the Ionisphere.
.
wash...rinse and repeat.
.
Sitting on my patio

smoking my pipe or a cigar
.
I think about stuff like that.

Sort:  

Having recently replaced both my starter and alternator, I note the basic similarity of forms. A central rotating core in a magnetic field. Both motors and generators have this shape, in motors providing electrical energy to the core makes it spin, and in generators, the spinning produces electrical energy.

The Earth is a generator. Also a motor. I don't see much point in making it spin (any more than it already does), but it seems pretty certain that one could simply hang a wire from a balloon and power would flow into it.

I have never read of this being done, although Ben Franklin is supposed to have used a kite (from which experiment I reckon he was quite fortunate to survive. Indeed, I am rather skeptical).

While the wire, being heavy, is a limiting factor, the construction of Shaniqua's house would make that less of a limitation.

Why isn't she charging up a town or two?

um...I dunno...I'll have to ask her.

now with the strong solar storms that have happened the earth must have altered its magnetic poles affecting the schumann frequency.

I go out much times a day to smoke my cigar Pall mall!!
It's a delight

First I'd heard of the Schumann Frequency....I looked it up.
Fascinating..

Okay...now do Jupiter.

You have some of that “special” tobacco packed tonight. Don’t ya?! 😉

never touch the stuff...just plain ole pipe tobacco or ceegars.

This post really good because i need this trick of my subject of human.

All that astrological information about mangnatic field and its impact are great to understand along with pictures.

Dynamo effect is new to me. Does that mean any body that has a magnetic field also has a molten core?

Gas giants have a magnetic field but no core at all as far as I know. I never really gave this force much thought

According to some theories, gas giants (as well as the sun) have a liquid surface. That would indicate a molten core.

But, if metals demagnetize at 1000 Kelvin and the core is greater than 5000 Kelvin (Earth's, the gas giants and Sun's would be hotter, except for the ice giants...errr head hurting), then what is causing the magnetism?

try this out.
the magnetism is an effect of the planetary dynamo. In this case it doesn't matter if it's molten are not as long as it's conductive. The earth has an iron core (and it's spinning), the sun provides the electro field...the spinning conductive core induces a magnetic field.

As I speculated earlier..the ONLY planets that have a magnetic field are spinning. I wonder if the STRENGTH of the field is proportional to the spin-rate.

Regarding the gas giants....is metallic hydrogen a conductor?

If liquid with conductive material in it can conduct electricity, then I guess conductive material that has turned to gas can do the same.

ever try taking a bath with an electric appliance nearby?
Maynard did.

Its amazing to think of gas giants as un-ignited stars

Yes indeed. Imagine, you have an un-ignited hydrogen ball in front of you and all you need is a burning match stick..

Two of them in our own backyard lol

dunno....I don't think so.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 69633.73
ETH 3805.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74