Breeding Healthy English Bulldogs

in #thesteemengine6 years ago (edited)

I have 2 girls both in season at the same time! As a Bulldog Breeder, I am used to this.

vfknn6azel.jpg

What most people don't realise is that when you own 2 female dogs that have not been spayed, they tend to come into season together. This can cause friction as they are both raging with hormones and want to dominate their space, so I have to keep a close eye on them at all times to make sure there is no fighting going on.

My girls are currently 15 months old and according to the KC rules, I could breed them as they are older than 12 months. I choose NOT to breed them yet because I feel they are still too immature and I want them to enjoy being a puppy for a while longer.

Since they were born, they have had a number of health tests to see if they are suitable to breed from in the future. My ethos is to only breed from health tested girls, and with the aim to improve on the parents. I am very selective on who I mate them with to make sure I am doing my very best to produce healthy happy puppies.

6l9udkxpm7.jpg

It is important to have good breeding ethics, especially when past breeders have done so much damage to them. For the last 20 or so years, the Bulldog Breed Council has worked tirelessly to try to educate breeders and give them the tools and knowledge to reverse the damage done by bad breeding in the past.

The breed has come on leaps and bounds since all the hard work put in by the ethical breeders. Bulldogs have been tested for breathing, eye issues, HUU status (bladder crystals). Patella scores(knees) and many other optional tests.

By using these tests, breeders can choose breeding pairs responsibly and improve the future health of the English Bulldog.

I will not be looking at having a litter for another 10 months or so, but when I do look at breeding the girls, I will only do so if I can find a stud that compliments them and also has the same or even better level of health testing.

I want to say that there are so many dogs out there in need of a home already, so if you are in a position to do so, please adopt rather than buy a puppy. We do need ethical breeders to ensure the health of future generations, but the dogs in shelters need you now.

Thank you for reading. Much love, BB xx

The STEEM Engine

20180516_002249_0001.png

Sort:  

Beautiful dogs. I love this breed. Thank you for being such a good dog owner and breeder who has actual strong ethics :)

Thank you @robertandrew :) They are an amazing breed and we need to take care of them for the future generations to thrive

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by beautifulbullies (bulldogs) from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

What would you do with a new litter? Do you plan on selling them or?

I am not breeding them as yet. The last litter I kept 2 out of the 6 puppies. I try to keep the puppies that have the best health attributes to reproduce the health in the future. But I also have dogs that I had as puppies that I have never bred from as they werent suitable for breeding, but I loved them too much to part with. My eldest is almost 13 who has never been bred from. I have a waiting list of people who would like to be considered for one of the future puppies but I am quite strict on who I rehome them to.

What would you do with
A new litter? Do you plan
On selling them or?

                 - enforcer48


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

hi dear, love love love the blog. the fotos are adorable i would buy one instant!! Enter is in @supernovastaffy #dogsofsteemit contest! and thanx for sharing see you soon

Thank you! I have entered it into dogsofsteemit 😁

Yeahhhhh great you have got a great entry !

They look very cute @beautifulbullies. Bless them :)
In our home in the Philippines there are more dogs live in our house than my family members. They are such a fun and helpful to us by being bodyguards :)
Regards to you!

haha yes, they make great house alarms! :) I hope you are well x

I'm really, really glad for breeders like you. I lucked into my first purebred and the other two I researched carefully.

And I'm glad I got a pound pup this time. Couldn't have worked out better for me.

Thanks BB

Thanks Big T. Yes researching the breeder is key imo. There are lots of puppy farms out there and they dont always put the health of the dogs first unfortunately

Hello @beautifulbullies!

Congratulations! Thanks for using the #dogsofsteemit hashtag! This post has been chosen as one of the winners for Episode 38 of the #dogsofsteemit challenge.

Can't wait to see more dog photos from you! Very happy to hear you have great ethics when it comes to breeding. I absolutely love bully breeds <3

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 266 (9/24/18)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58613.96
ETH 3153.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43