The Hive. Personal Growth and Community.

in #thehive6 years ago

The Hive Conflicts of Community and Personal Growth

Howdy folks'.

I would like to begin this post by stating.

I truly endeavour to remain neutral of my own bias. Killer task at times.

I do enjoy being here on Steemit, I think more so for the Discord communities I frequent an find genuine moments of company. With the general task of keeping the community growing in strength. I would like to be able to do more in growing you, not only in your Steem strength, also in your any other area you might need help. Financial help I cannot give. I can help with other things at times, like brainstorming your post for alternative views. To just to talk if you need someone to talk to. The little bits I know about formatting or any other topic, I am happy to share the views I hold.
A better you makes better us.

C Honey Jara.jpg

I do believe with some time effort and agreement a solid basis for equality can be reached. In some forms anyway. The Hive is part of a test project on this theory. It is not perfect but improvements I keep trying to make. The biggest conflict I have is where to place the votes.
I do use some votes over at the PYPT in the Steemit Ramble Discord Server. This show is held at two different times each Thursday.

Within the group, my conflict is with entitlement, equality and workload (mytime).
Tackling my time first as this is the minor part of the what to do, or how to progress part of my conflict. My time is given to the community regardless. Where the time is best used, and how much difference it would make is probably also minor.

Between entitlement and equality, both seem the same thing and for the most part they are. Entitlement in this instance is that. If a member of the group votes regular on the content of the community members, we give an entitlement of a promotion to their post too, also a comment vote..
If a member of the community votes regular on posts from The Hive, we give the entitlement of a comment vote.
We all have different schedules and obstacles in our way which may prevent us at times from posting. I have tried to allow for this throughout the past few month. When I cannot promote a members post because of payout time frames and no new posts have being placed. I move to the next member in order and promote their post. Then I will see the next day a new post by that person and backtrack to them. Check if they were promoted or not and then jump back and promote them a day or two later.

This I am of the opinion (recently formed). This is chasing around after members too much. I do want to reward everyone equally. We do not vote on posts older than four days. Posts on five days have at times missed the last vote as the payout time was expiring by the time we got to the post.
Should I continue this practise or is it your responsibility to post? VS can that time be put to better use?

I struggled to choose the right words and unsure if I did. I am trying not to appear unfair. Hoping I was successful.

For a promotion vote on the bomb, a member would have to vote daily on posts and post themselves every four days so we get it before the fifth day. Now you have a reason to post at least twice a week :P

Charisma honeypot.jpg

I have also increased my workload, previous mention of an application for membership to The Alliance community had a positive result. Our application was processed stamped and approved. Unsure what I was actually getting into I applied anyway. Someone said something and I can remember the thought we should be in that group. Don't ask me what was said, I have no idea.

Sure enough when I got there, my first thought was oh feck. A curators trail, feck came up again cause I know nothing about curating. What I do know I learned from listening to Shadowspub From the Steemit Ramble and RhondaK talking. That confuses the Bee Jeazus out of me as it is so far.
It's like asking an Irishman for directions. So you just drove into Dublin lost your bearings. Your Sat Nav is down cause your phone battery is flat, So you cant google map it, yea, you forgot your charger too. You pull over to the side of the road and ask, "Can you tell me how to get to the Phoenix Park?"
To which the reply will surely come in a manner like. "The Phoenix Park?" leaving you unsure if he wants to know why you are going there or if he is clarifying your destination.

"Yes, The Phoenix Park."

"Oh," slight pause "You know, to get to the Phoenix Park. This isn't the best place to start from. What you are best doing, is swing a U'e here and go back that way till you come to a set of lights. Hang a left hook there. Keep on going until you come to the bridge, don't go under the bridge, if you do that you might end up in Galway. That leads ye on to the motorway. take the turn on the right before the bridge. There's two of them mind you want the last turn. The other one will take ye miles outta your way. Once you are on that road, ye'll be all right. If ye go from there. Ye can't miss it."

Well its pretty much like that after Listening and following what was being said, I am still left thinking, okay what just happened. lol

Think I went a bit off track there, to carry on. We got approved and I was wondering how I would be of any use. By Chance Enginewitty and I met up in the Steemit Ramble Server. I might be able to write a post for them :) I am looking forward to this and the new interactions it brings. You will all have to start improving your posts if this curating gig rubs off on me. (Irish Humour) Though if any would like assistance in these things I am willing to share what I do know.

Make a Diff banner.jpg

You are welcome to join our Discord Server at
https://discord.gg/SQ3zSsp

Some other groups I invite you to take a look at are:
The @IFC Discord group: https://discord.gg/uSGDtKR
The @cryptoempire Discord Server: https://discord.gg/9JhyHXg
The @asapers Discord Server: https://discord.gg/2gJD7PW
The @buddyup Discord Server: https://discord.gg/3d5H3K8
The @steemitramble Discord Server: https://discord.gg/QJzP2zm


The Hive witness vote has been given to
@danielsaori @yehey @pharesim @yabapmatt @steemcommunity @enginewitty @jackmiller
All these witness have come at the recommendation of
Jan23com to the The Hive.
They do not reflect the opinions of individual members of the group or the group as a whole.

hive TY.gif

All the Hive Logo's and Banners graphics are provided exclusively
by
@Charisma777

This account is protected by @dustsweeper

Sort:  

Congrats on the Alliance. As for post, and people posting, hard call but life gets busy, steem gets busy, and if someone,( like me) does not get a post out a post does not get out, no post nothing to think about, on to the next in line. We, (meaning me), should not expect a placeholder for our post. I have been for the last 10 days or so doing a lot of posting, because I am trying to get the number 3 under my one post a day for a week badge on steemitboard. So far, no luck, time zone issues I think. I will either figure it out, or I will stay at the number 2 under my badge.

So I guess I am saying, move to the next, and hope they have one in the pan when their turn comes around again.

Congratulations @thehive on your success in applying to join the Alliance. I think ... As you seem unsure ... 😉

Seriously, I hope it all comes together for you! Looking forward to future updates on what you are learning / gaining from this new association.

Posted using Partiko Android

This post has received a 12.20% UpGoat from @shares. Send at least 0.1 SBD to @shares with a post link in the memo field.

Interested to earn daily? Delegate Steem Power to receive 95% payout rewards. Use this link https://on.king.net/shares to delegate SP to @Shares. Join us at https://steemchat.com/ discord chat.

Support my owner. Please vote @Yehey as Witness - simply click and vote.

You got a 24.11% upvote from @automation courtesy of @thehive! This is a service sponsored by @yehey. Please consider voting @yehey for Witnes. Use this short URL link https://on.king.net/witness simply click and vote, this will redirect to Steem Connect for secure connection.

Interested to earn daily? Delegate Steem Power to receive 90% payout rewards. Use this link https://on.king.net/automation to delegate SP to @Automation.
If you need an extra upvote, join us at https://SteemChat.com discord server.

Have a lovely day.
@Automation - Keep Steeming for a better future.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Jan23com from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60832.04
ETH 2902.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55