RUNNING IN THE MARITIMES #6 - FIRST LAKE LOWER SACKVILLE - I KICKED IT OUT OF THE PARK

in #thegoodnews7 years ago (edited)

Today was the very first road race for 2018 in the RUN NOVA SCOTIA race series. It was a snowy and slippery day with the temperatures being around 2 degrees celsius.

THE FROSTBITE 5 MILER- FIRST LAKE LOWER SACKVILLE

It was beautiful to look at and slippery to run in. HOWEVER:

I KICKED IT OUT OF THE PARK !!!!!!!!!!!!! WOOHOO ...What a race!!!! Awesome time with inclement conditions.

It was a looped course with rolling hills around First Lake.

I decided to include this Post in the Goodnews Posts for the week as this was a charity run. The goal was to fill the Harvard Auto Sales Beacon House Food Drive Vehicle.

BEACON HOUSE MISSION

The Mission of Beacon House is to provide food, clothing and programs for those in need in our community in a caring and compassionate manner.

About Beacon House
Beacon House has been assisting Families and Individuals since 1985. Those people who are in Bedford/Sackville/Fall River/Hammonds Plains area who have been faced with financial hardship as a result of job loss, reduced employment, medical issues, psychological or physical challenges, and many other life events that impact their ability to provide basic needs for themselves and their families.

With the help of more than 100 dedicated volunteers from the local community, our staff is able to offer hope and comfort to those in need as they work to get back on their feet and create a better future.

We are “neighbours helping neighbours”.
Beacon House is operated by a registered charity, the Christian Interfaith Society, a collaboration of local churches, and is a member agency of Feed Nova Scotia. Beacon House is guided by a volunteer Board of Directors.

I really think they succedded in filling the van. I took this picture before all the runners had even shown up.

So here we are at the start line. Now check out the runner with the shorts. Brrrrrr.

No Kidding eh.

Off we go...it was so beautiful just like a Currier and Ives Postcard.

Not every road or sidewalk was plowed.

I just heard from the Race Director and we seemed to have done incredibly well. It was a huge success.

I hope you have enjoyed my Run in the Maritimes today. If you would like to join along on the next run just let me know.

Namaste

Source: East Coast Running
Source: Google Beacon House

*****proceeds from the Post Payout will be used to purchase supplies for Beacon House. Thank you.

Sort:  

Phew! I must be a lot fitter than I thought @marionbowes I ran every cold, slippery kilometre with you and I'm not even puffed! I also enjoyed the scenery immensely. What a great cause. It is very uplifting to see 'Neighbours helping Neighbours' in this way. Well done for achieving this great effort.

Thank you...and thanks for stopping by. I will take you along again if you like. It was so very beautiful. I just heard from the race director that it was a huge success.

Oh yes. Please do. In the meantime, I will do a few laps of the local pool to keep my fitness levels up. Even if I can only keep your pace for part of the race, hopefully your zest and energy will run off on to me. 🏃🏼‍♀️

We will catch up soon. xx

Epic!!! Kickin @ss and taking names!! <3 <3 Beautiful shot of the forest trees too...wow... <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3

Thank you sweetie. Just actually noticed the other day that my silly little phone has a black and white setting. But oh my it was so pretty. I loved that we actually filled that van to the top, I even ran past the Beacon House so now I know where it is. Thanks for stopping by and all the loves. xxx much love

Nice one! It is also great for running motivation to attend these shorter races, while preparing for a marathon! Good for you!

yes, that is why I go to many local events. It keeps the motivation strong.

I think it is so awesome that you ran in the snow and cold. Congratulations on achieving goals. What a perfect cause helping those around you.

Thank you. It was such fun and such a great success. Thanks for stopping by

Run often. Run long. But never outrun your joy of running.
-Julie Isphording

Resteemed by @runningproject

Kind reminder:

Remember to vote your Running Author of the week!

How do I go about doing that

That sounds like a fun race and great cause! And you won't be surprised to hear that I had to grab a sweater to read your post.

Nope...not surprised, totally understandable. It was very pretty, but alas slippery. Frankly I have had enough of winter, desperately searching for spring. Thanks for stopping by. I usually have more than 1 cent to upvote, but I have been blogging all day to catch up. :)))

i hope that i can feel how to run at winter ...
cause we in indonesia especially aceh we never get a winter ..hahah
love this post ..

Hello...so nice to meet you on this platform. We here in Canada have 4 different seasons. Winter, spring, summer and fall. I love them all but my favorite is summer and fall. I would love to see Indonesia one day and be able to visit and run there as well.

Hahaha...nice to meet u too @marionbowes ...we are at indonesia just have 2 seasons fall, and summer ...
I hope that you would able to visit and see my beautifull contry indonesia soon ...
You would see the wonderfull place here at indonesia...
Thank u @marionbowes ...hope you also can vote and support my steemit post...thank u so much...

I would love to upvote. Today I am all out of upvotes. I used them all yesterday. They will come back soon. I am not a minnow yet. However, I think I like you and I will follow you. If you post nice and interesting posts I will continue to follow you and upvote and resteem if its really good. ok :)))

Hahhahaha....its ok ...never mind it ..
I really like you too..you're so kind person ...
Hopely we can be a friend ....
Anyways i was a newbie in steemit..so hope u can teach or give me some suggestion for it ...thank u so much @marionlowes...i would try my best to post the interesting posts...you give me a positive motivation ...thank u ...^^

you are so welcome and thank you for stopping by again. I have followed you and I will stop by to see what you have posted. I will upvote when I have power and I will answer anyways if i do not if you have an interesting post for me. Have a most wonderful day.

This looks like a great cause and good that they filled up that vehicle even more. I am glad we don't have any of that white stuff on our ground currently and hope it stays that way, come on Spring, maybe if the weather holds I might even try an occasional 'jog' when I run. That is the preamble to running, right? The occasional job ;)

hee..yes ok.. well its raining hard and the snow is gone. this has been the strangest winter, and I am so very tired of it. come on spring yes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58171.46
ETH 2472.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42