You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Anni Cyrus on M103 (Canadian Bill Proposition)

I deleted my response. However, since you read it. it all good.

It seems we are not able to reach a common understanding.

You certainly are considering me defending the book and Islam when I say that 90% of it is not bad.
For one last time I will try to make my stance clear. That doesn't mean You will have to agree with it, neither I expect you. But Just like you tried to make your points clear, I am trying as well.

When I try to see the good value in Islam and the book, I am not trying to defend it as ideology or words. To me it is all about connections. The bad verses in the book represent ISIS (An Ideology that was my enemy before it became yours even) but the good verses represent the rest of the Islamic population around the world.

When you are seeing the book as only words being criticized, I see it as people. People who have been born in the wrong place, at the wrong time and maybe with the wrong set of teaching values. But 90% of these people are trying to follow the good verses and they deserve to be acknowledged. Just as much as the 10% deserves to be criticized, resisted and combated even.

To me humans are humans no matter where they come from, their skin color, or location. I will not be angry if Saudi Arabia is invaded just because it is where I come from. I honestly have no feelings of connection whatsoever to that country or its people, but I will be angry because there are people there who are innocent despite the teaching they were raised up with. No matter where the invasion or killing is happening, my heart will ache for those people because they are humans.

To me, it is not about my ancestors or my people, its about humans. To you they can be disconnected, to me they are not. It is just as simple as that.

You want to hear about dark feelings? I do have dark feelings now too. The feelings of fear that were thrust inside of me by your words. The feelings of distrust.

If you feel disrespected by my words, I feel scared by yours.

You are special to me as well and I have been very sad yesterday as to how all of this has happened. My heart is overburdened with sorrow at the moment.

But if both trust and respect are starting to crumble, what would be left from the foundation of a relationship?

If you think the foundation can be saved, I am all for trying.

Sort:  
Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66930.79
ETH 3268.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64