Pura vida - Baptizing my new surfboard 🏄‍steemCreated with Sketch.

in #theeverydayproject7 years ago (edited)

Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away.

Today was definitely one of these moments for me. It was time to baptize my new baby. 

Do you know these days when everything seems to be simply perfect?
Here is how surfing has made my day - and how it changed my life.

Backup20170319_b003c3d32.jpg

Pura vida 

On days like these I remember why I was born. I am here to enjoy life.

Lucky me I don´t need much to feel content. Things that make me feel alive are actually the ones that are already there: OCEAN, EARTH, SUN, WIND. 

That´s one of the uncountable reasons why surfing is made for me and why I need to live close to the beach.

Why I love surfing

Can you believe that I´ve been afraid of water all my life? 

Surfing has told me that there are infinite reasons to constantly get over my fears. First of all, I feel absolutely grounded with nature in Mother Ocean. She accepts all my stresses and frustrations without any complaint.  

When paddling out to the backline with the frustration of the day surging me onwards, I can guarantee that after the first wave I will have a massive smile on my face, and a cathartic sense of release. 

Through out the span of our life as a surfer, it is an individual effort with no winner or loser. 

We only rely on ourselves.

IMG_91265df7a.jpg

Picure: Preparing the equipment, waxing the board´s surface.

Surfing is a sport and lifestyle with a constant learning process

The new surfboard has set me back considerably. It´s as if I had to start learning again how to catch waves. Now the analytic part of myself has to be activated. As a Computer Scientist I love studying the "IFs" and "THENs".

Surfing actually is kind of geeky. Yes, I am not kidding! Analysing the forecast of the upcoming days may even become somehow a religion. My application called magicseaweed is the one that I use most. Then, knowing how the data will transcribe to the real results at the beach takes a lot of experience.

There is no doubt: it´s me who has to get in the water to catch the waves!

IMG_9127d3b31.jpg

Picture: Two step procedure - wax for tropical climate (layer 1) & cold water (layer 2)

Learning to deal with fear

Surfing teaches me survival. 

When I am padding out, then there is just me against the Ocean. There might be other surfers in the water, too. But ultimately I choose which direction to paddle when a monster looms overhead. Whether I try to duck-dive (with the old board that was impossible), turtle, or decide to ride it is simply up to me. 

The result of all my decisions depends solely on me.

Backup20170319_b008d7046.jpg

Picture: On that one you can see the respect in my eyes before entering the water.

Surfing cultivates awareness. 

Watching a wave form right in front of my eyes gives me reason not to look away for too long since I don´t have much intention to be caught on the inside. 

It´s rewarding. Yes, it needs a lot of efforts and strength - both physically and mentally. But there is no such feeling than being pushed by a wave, noticing the adrenaline rush and riding it all the way down. 

Until you know what it feels like to surf a wave you have not lived.

Picture source: https://dribbble.com/shots/2306812-Hand-Lettering-Surfing-Quotes

Thoth (another addicted surfer): "For every hour you're in the water you might only catch 10 waves (on a good day).  Each wave might only be a 5 second ride. This translates to only 50 seconds of actual riding time for 1 hour of surfing. Surfers will know that every second was absolutely worth it." 

Source: https://www.quora.com/Surfing-Why-do-surfers-love-their-sport


There are moments in life that take your breath away.
Make sure you´ll experience much of them, because that´s pura vida :)

Marly - 

PS: Don´t forget to follow  #theeverydayproject: The Everyday Project



Sort:  

a wedding card received by my nephew yesterday :)

Oh that´s a nice coincidence! :)
I absolutely love this quote. There is so much wisdome in it.
Thanks for sharing it and enjoy your Sunday @immarojas!

Thanks for sharing yours :) Enjoy the coming week!

"Until you know what it feels like to surf a wave you have not lived."

True dat'! :) Or at least, close enough. I have not experienced anything in life that comes close to the joy of riding a moving wave. Sort of like a roller coaster - only it keeps on changing shape, and I get to steer! :) :) :) :D

How cool is that!

😄😇😄

@creatr

Rock on, Marly! ;)

Oh I wished you would find this post! :)
I haven´t experienced anything similar either. And I can´t stop doing it! I am absolutely addicted. Very often I have to force myself to get out of the water, still wanting to get one more even if I am totally exhausted and can´t move my arms anymore :-D
Haha! We are so freaky!!! And I love it.
Big hugs my friend and keep paddling

Oh, trust me my friend, I will find your surfing stories! ;)

I have often told folks that the hardest thing I do on any given day is get out of the water.

We are most definitely "on the same page" there, my dear. ;) I recognize those days where I just want one more wave... have to haul myself to the beach after it gets dark.

Did you ever read my story about surfing at night in the red tide? ;) :) :) :)

Hugs right back, see you at the break some day... :)

Oh I think I missed that story about your night surf!!!

Trust me my friend, I will find your surfing stories! ;)

Haha! Me, too :-D
Hugs

Thanks for your inspiring attitude about life and overcoming fears.

You are more than welcome, @paradise-found!
Maybe not everybody needs to overcome fears or exceed limits, but it´s my personal way of finding total fulfillment in life :)
Have a good evening!

"Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away."

Wow, Quote of the DAY!

Love the photos and post.

Hang loose @surfermarly

:D

Thank you, @cassidyandfranks - it´s been my pleasure :)
Really glad you liked the story. Surfing is very special, but we can learn from its drivers even if we are not a surfer :)
Happy Sunday evening!

AWESOME!

Hehe, thank you sweetie!!!
3 months... tic tac!
Big kiss :-*

cant wait!

Me neither!!! :)

Boldly! I'm afraid of big waves.

Me, too! :)) I am actually afraid of water. That may sound weird and I have no excuse, haha
Thanks for stopping by and enjoy your Sunday eve!

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the second half of Mar 19. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $21.71 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Mar 19 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57616.20
ETH 3030.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.25