Count Me In On Your Adventure - A Regular Girl Powering Up for the First TimesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #theeverydayproject7 years ago (edited)

Every positive change in your life begins with a clear and unequivocal decision that you are going to either do or stop doing something. 

My decision is clear and has ever been. Yesterday for the first time ever I´ve invested into steem. It´s time for a little recap.

Commitment means staying loyal to what you said you were going to do,
long after the mood you said it in has left you. 

How everything started

For most of you trading might be daily business, but to me it´s a completely new and exciting experience. 

Before joining steemit in July 2016, I had never been in touch with crypto currencies. I didn´t even know they were existing. 

I had the same questions probably most of the people have when getting in touch with it for the very first time:

  1. Nerd money?
  2. Where does the money come from?
  3. How it is possible that somebody invents a new currency without a bank´s approval?
  4. Who decides how much it is worth?
  5. How can I exchange it for real money?

That moment when you just don´t get it...:)

Lucky me the friend who introduced me to steemit is a true crypto crack I could learn a lot from him instead of jumping in at the deep end.

"There are girls on steemit earning thousands of dollars for blogging. You have to join! I am sure your 'from city girl to surfer girl story' would kill it in there." 

These were the words from my friend. 

A couple of days later I published my introducion on steemit.com:
"From city girl to surfer girl, steem your dreams!"

It´s kind of emotional looking back at it now. 

A couple of months later, my own mom asked me exactly the same questions I had when entering this new world. She was following my doings on steemit since the very first day and somehow got interested in the details. 

Explaining the concept of crypto currency to my mom:
"The brownie bakery theory"

The next level - Powering up 

The same friend who introduced me to steemit 8 months ago was the one who helped me to enter the exchange market now.

There was a lot of movement both on steemit and at the steem exchange markets lately: rewards distribution revolutions, hard forks, raise and fall of steem price. It felt like riding a rollercoaster. 

However, that didn´t prevent me from doing the next step.

Here´s how I think about the past weeks:

Entering the crypto market through a fiat gateway is like calling Donald Trump and asking if he wants to have some coffee with you. 

Well he wouldn´t even take the phone. That´s the problem! 

Some of you may have followed my desperate intentions to exchange fiat for crypto during the past weeks. I´ve tried to enter the market through several well-known exchange services, but all my attempts failed.

Now I finally found a way in. 

After completing the exchange on poloniex, I left a comment in their trollbox:

Me: "Yeah, I have just completed my very first BTC-STEEM exchange!"
Another user: "Congrats Marly, you´ve just lost your crypto virginity."



Moving myself inside an exchange network felt incredible.

You know that you´re part of something great but feel like walking on eggshells. 

The next steps let me feel much more comfortable, since I came back to my known enviroment. Once the transfer from poloniex had been registered on my steemit wallet, everything started to be smooth again. 

Then I just did it. 

As long as the gateway from fiat to crypto is controlled by institutional regulations, it would be difficult to bring the new currencies to the masses. 

Not all people are brave enough for this adventure. 

The technology and related services are in their early adoption. Besides policital issues, there will be a lot of education needed, not only in order to change people´s behavior but especially their mindset. 

During centuries financial issues have been given into hands of centralized institutions and organizations. 

The idea that we could all become our own bankers now, is groundbreaking but also threatening to many people. 

It needs a smooth and playful approach.  

steemit is supposedly the no. 1 gateway to the crypto market for regular people.

By doing what these internet users have always done (social interaction) they playfully get in touch with 'the new paradigm'. 

To be honest, when I started on steemit I had no idea that this could change my view on the whole world´s concept.

steemit taught me that we shouldn´t take everything for granted and that 'it has been always like this' is no excuse for change. This platform showed me how to bravely step out of my comfort zone in order to get back some control over my own life and property. 

If you get a chance, take it. If it changes your life, let it.

Marly - 

Picture sources:
Britney: steemitimages.com
Einstein: inspiredbusinesssuccess.co.uk
Easy: ILikeToQuote.com
Meme: cryptogab.com
Comfort zone: picturequotes.com

Sort:  

I didn't stop to read this (rather long) article until I reached the end ... which is the best proof for me that it was really interesting. :)

The idea that we could all become our own bankers now, is groundbreaking but also threatening to many people.
Right - and the idea of these "threatened" people to have the right to store and control all my money threatens me!

As you can see in my wallet, all my funds are powered up anyway. But nevertheless I would be curious to know why you suggest that the best moment to power up would be NOW (and was not yesterday or will be in 3 weeks for example)? :)

Oh I´d like to know that, too! Perhaps I´ve done a huge mistake...
But anyways... now it´s powered up :D

That was a huge compliment, thank you! I really appreciate it.
Hope that we won´t have to deal much more time with these threatening people though :)

Congratulations and well done! You're an inspiration to me (and many others!) because you're someone thriving here without being from a crypto or developer background. I just powered up (in a small way) too! I think our community here can become something truly amazing... and it's that "soft entry point" for regular people to get involved with cryptocurrencies, without needing to be tech savvy.

Thank you so much, @denmarkguy!
I truly admire your talent to break down complicate things and make them easy to understand for everybody. That's surely one of the most important issues when getting in touch with the mainstream here: building "soft entry spots" - yeah that's it!
I didn't power up a HUGE amount of money either, but hey - every journey starts with the first step 🙂
Enjoy your weekend!

Awesome story, keep on keeping on!!!

Thanks for your kindness, @kotturin! I will keep trying ;-)

What a long strange trip its been! And we're just getting started. I'm glad you were able to get some fiat money into the crypto system finally. Nice decision to convert to Steem and power up to Steem Power! I think the timing is good for that.

Best wishes for a happy, healthy and wealthy future!

Exactly, we are just getting started. And honestly I am really happy and excited to be part of it.
Best wishes to you, too, Kenny! And thanks for your continuous support :)
Enjoy your weekend!

Que bueno amiga! Todos los exitos en esta nueva etapa! Y a seguir cultivando conocimiento, que el deseo de aprender cosas nuevas es lo que nos mantiene vivos. Y no dudo que en un corto periodo de tiempo vos vas a ser la crack en "crypto currency"... No habia visto el post que le hiciste a tu ma. Me voy derecho a verlo, pq yo puedo tener 30 pero estoy mas perdido que ella! jaja Abzo querida!

Jajaja si te gustan los dulces te va a encantar!

El deseo de aprender cosas nuevas es lo que nos mantiene vivos.

Cuanta razón amigo! Aprender es vivir.
Un abrazote para ti y buen finde 🙃

Congratulations, Marly dear!

STEEM ON! ;)

😄😇😄

@creatr

P.S. How's your book coming along? :D

Thank you my friend! 😍
The book has been parked for a while but will get back in the centre of my attention soon. Creative break so to say...:) Big hugs

No pressure, just wondering... I'll enjoy reading as it happens!

Steem and surf on, my dear, and big hugs right back at ya' ;)

You're going to be the very first one in reading it, promised 😉👍

Thanks for the link 😉

Congratulations on popping that crypto cherry. LOL
I still get nervous with the exchanges and the wait times. The biggest pain point I've found is people asking how they can spend it. It's not going to be considered money nor will it go mainstream, until someone can swipe a debit card and pay their bills with it. We're getting there!

Thank you @merej99! It´s rather been a rare, unavailable exotic fruit than a cherry, haha
The party will surely begin when we´ll pay with digital money at the supermarket. Not sure if we will be still alive when this is going to happen. I am eating lots of fruits to ensure that :-D

Excellent! You have a lot of passion and great ideas for Steemit. I'm looking forward to making this journey with you.

Thank you very much, Tom! It means a lot to hear it from you. I am looking forward, too ;)

Good on ya.

I was shocked to see you had not done some of this stuff yet --- you seem like a #CryptoElder to me at times LOL

Have a nice weekend!!!

Oh that was cute! I've always tried to somehow follow the conversations about crypto here and like to learn from the PRO's. But I am a naked newbie, now it's official!!! 😆
Have an awesome one, too!

I think you have a lot of

#CryptoCrush

fans on here sister.

Be well. Stay spicy!!!!

Greenhouse joke, you get it LOL

LOL - yeah I got it 🌶👈🏿😄
Btw I am just preparing some stuffed Giant Rocotos for dinner. Yummy!

Stay awesome Marly. I have enjoyed getting to know you a bit more lately. Not gonna lie, anyone that likes hot peppers gets a +1 right away in my books hahaha!

Haha, I feel honored though :)
Hot pepper freaks have to stick together!!

We really do.

A support group or something at least LOL

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60796.54
ETH 3365.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50