A Farmer´s Life - Growing the Hot StuffsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #theeverydayproject7 years ago (edited)

You may not always end up where you thought you were going; but you will always end up where you are meant to be.

Who knew that I would end up in this green house and that I´d even have fun doing so? 

Here´s what I am usually doing when not blogging on steemit.

IMG_92851479c.jpg

Growing the hot stuff

Yes, everything you can see on the picture above is 100% legal :-)

If you believed that you could smoke some of these, I´d have to disappoint you.
You´d better wait until they have grown some pods. 

Now it´s 15 years ago that my father started to set up his new business. Everything began more or less by accident. He had always been a huge fan of nature and planting. Then somehow one day he discovered that there was a market gap for hot pepper seeds in the world. 

If I´ve learned something from my dad then it´s that enthusiasm and passion are the key driver´s to success; or as Galileo Galilei said:
'Passion is the genesis of genius.'

My dad started basically from zero when he ran into that opportunity. Now, 15 years later, his online shop provides the largest amount of hot pepper seed varieties in the world. 

I can´t tell you how proud of him I am!

How he got there? By dedication, patience, consistency and hard work. 

Being #daddysgirl 

When I degreed in Computer Science in Media 13 years ago I was aiming to become a Marketing Consultant. 

I loved the idea of earning so much money that I wouldn´t even know how and where to spend it. I loved the idea of wearing a fancy business dress and defining myself through status symbols.

It takes courage to grow up and become who you really are. 


If there was something not meant to be my purpose, then it was becoming a fancy dressed Marketing Consultant :-) 

The good thing about life is that WE are the ones who are navigating this ship. If one direction doesn´t lead to complete fulfillment, then another one probably will. It´s about trying. 

Now you know what I am usually doing when I am not on steemit. 

If daddy saw this blog post he´d supposedly say: "You should rather take care of my plants instead of taking selfies!" Lucky me he is on a business trip right now and won´t have time to check my steemit profile. 

But yes, he can totally rely on me. Everything is onder control. The hot babies are growing well, website is running, and client´s are happy. 

'Find purpose. The means will follow.' - Mahatma Gandhi 

I hope you´ve found yours as well :)
Marly - 

PS: Don´t forget to follow  #theeverydayproject: The Everyday Project

IMG_930269b6c.jpg

Pictures are all taken by myself (original content). Source of quote: https://www.askideas.com/.

Sort:  

Wonderful Post. My parents operated a Greenhouse business and truck farm. Never got rich, but they enjoyed the work. I chose a different path in life, although growing plants is a big part of my life. I live in a colder climate so I grow my peppers in pots in a greenhouse.I save as much seed as I can, but for mostly my use and family members.

I grow salad greens (not lettuce) using a real basic hydroponic technique all winter to keep me in fresh vegetables. Also is great for mental health during the gloomy months.

There is nothing like growing vegetables for self use or to sell. Really enjoed the read. I will have follow you to keep up with your posts.

Thank you @r2cornell!
I completely agree. Growing, planting, gardening is really special and provides us with a lot of joy. Besides hot pepper we have tomatoes, so when I am in the green house I always eat them right from the plant. This taste is amazing! Pure nature! :) So I can totally relate. Growing vegetables on your own is a huge plus, especially thinking about the bad quality we are used to find in supermarkets nowadays.
Enjoy your weekend!
Thanks for the follow, I follow you back :)

The correlation between your story and mine is simply incredible! My husband and I were both in college, myself for Computer Science, Howie for Pre-Chiropractic, when his uncle announced he was retiring from the grape vine business, and he was hoping that his nephew would take over and carry it forward. It was a huge decision to make in our lives, but I have never regretted it for a moment!
Did I mention hot peppers rock? LOL

Dreemit! I would love to read about your story here . . . with pictures, of course. Sounds like a movie in the making, truly.

Wow, that's very nice of you to say! I may do that one day. I am going to be shifting from my fiction (well I'll keep that going to) to some blogging about life, so perhaps that will come into it ;)

I will try to be patient. smile.

My comments here too reflect my spicy love!!! Nice to know you are connected also!!

Haha! That I am! Oh, and I made another non-fiction post...actually I made it for steemit's birthday, and a missing/missed member if you want to check it out ;)

Just hit 10k Steem Power! What a long Minnow Life that was eh? You relate!!!

That's awesome!! I am still a thousand away....but soon I will be your baby dolphin sister, haha!

Hahahahah,

#MinnowLife

  • forever in my heart.

I never forget where I come from.

Wow! You are absolutely right, there is an amazing parallel.
So good to hear that you´ve chosen the right way. To be honest, I wasn´t sure either when doing this step out of one business and into another. But hey, how could we know if we didn´t try?!
Haha, so you are another hot pepper fan? It seems that there are a lot on steemit. Cool!!!

Half the reason we chose the occupations we were going to school for was their potential to be self-employed...eons into the future, haha! And working in nature for something sustainable was a much purer ideal. So glad we did try, us and you! ;)

Yes, I am very glad, too!!!
My scientific education provided me with a certain sense of rationalness, the ability to reason and align the focus with the solution instead of the problem. Even though I am not working in an office now, I am grateful for these skills. They help me to solve problem and get myself out of complicated situations quickly :-)
Best of luck to you and Howie on your future way!!!

Agreed!

Hahaha, that ones is very nice, too! Thank you Uwe!!!
Seems that you guys are all well prepared for the hot posts :-))) Too cool!

hot posts, hot content and hot steemians - yeah @surfermarly

LOL - that could be an excellent message for an advertising campaign, Uwe!

steemit - The place where being hot is worth something.

Hahaha

That is an option (hey my job isn't it?) but there can be others - we need focused marketing messages for different target groups - this one might be good for male like me though @surfermarly

Haha, I kind of supposed you would love that one :-)))
Thank you!!!

I did like it, thanks!

Yup !!! wherever there,s a Pepper, there,s a Papa too )))) nice post @surfermarly )

I fully agree, they are inseparable! :)
Thanks for stopping by, I am happy you liked it.

It's nice that your dad took that direction years ago -- and that your interests line up with what he set in motion! The greenhouse looks like a tidy operation. It's amazing that pepper seed can be that lucrative -- although it makes sense that a seed crop is worth more than a food crop. How many plants total do you all have at one time? Here's to a hot pepper future!

The most funny thing about all this family business is actually that I am becoming aware of the fact that my father and I we resemble each other a lot. That my interests line up with what he set in motion like you perfectly said is something that has evolved during years. In fact I asked him several years ago if he was interested in having me in the company, but he denied saying that he didn´t believe this was made for me. He was totally right by the way! Now, a few years and a lot of experiences later I came to the point where I was ready - and he knew. So it was him who asked me to join this time, and obviously I agreed at once :-)

This season is going to be huge. We will cultivate around 300 different hot pepper varieties having 6 plants of each, which means 1,800 hot pepper plants. Plus: 100 tomato varieties x 6 plants = 600 tomato bushes (which grow very large so need a lot of space). It´s going to be crazy!!! Haha

In our shop we currently have 718 different hot pepper seeds on stock and 138 tomatoes. And no, I still don´t know them all :-)

Thanks for stopping by and enjoy your weekend!!

Yumm peppers. I think they key is to keep trying to find your groove. I like how you said if one thing won't fulfill you then another will. You definitely get my follow. Amazing content here.

Oh yeah, trying to find your groove is definitely the right purpose. It´s about thinking, feeling and acting (in that order :-)). Thanks for your kindness and the follow! I will follow you back :)
Enjoy your weekend!

Bring your amazing dad on steemit. @papa-pepper recently brought his. FATHER'S DAY is near!

Ha! I´ve told him several times but he really doesn´t have the time. That´s no excuse :) But I was thinking about opening an account for our business and posting (dad´s knowledge) about hot pepper, cultivation etc. Like a spicy ghost writer :-D

Most definitely. It will so thrive! Combine with @papa-pepper and create more magic or grandpa papa pepper. and please join https://discord.gg/Vru88z8, alot of creative things to talk about. it is not fully setup yet but my company is in the making already. i am building my small company by means of steem blockchain. that is how big it is!

I´ll stop by during the next days :-) Thanks for the invitation!!!
Great to hear that you are starting up!

rad photo!!!

"It takes courage to grow up and become who you really are. " <--- love this! great writing!

Thank you!!! Too good to know you enjoyed it.
I totally love this place. It provides so much energy!!

so good, authenticity and integrity, these are the most important values, cause they include the individual human being. overcome fear and hate,take your time to find out who you really are!

I couldn´t agree more, Simon! That´s IT. :)
Thanks for stopping by and sharing your wise words.
Wish you a wonderful weekend!

likewise!

Love your stories, and love the way so many of us here on Steemit are living our dreams... I was schooled and ready for a very "normal" life with university degrees in marketing and finance, and yet I am here living as an independent artist, writer and overall "creative," not doing much of anything relating to where I started out.

Thank you, @denmarkguy! You are absolutely right. It really seems that this is a common denominator we are sharing here on steemit. We are all great dreamers, visionaries and life-lovers :-)
Have a wonderful weeekend!

Oh you must be kidding! Wow, what a great honor! This was actually my very first post in the gardening section.
Thank you so much, I am really grateful to receive that recognition. It will definitely encourage me to post more about :-)
THANK YOU & have a nice weekend!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61334.44
ETH 2694.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50