The Diary Game | 09/01/2020 | Day #26 - Coffee at Plaza Bolivar in Manizales, Colombia

Colombian coffee culture exists in its most pure form in Manizales. With a pace of life that moves slower than Bogota, yet more cultured than Medellin - even the business culture here revolves around coffee shops to some extent. It really doesn't matter what quality of coffee you are drinking either, your company will always be the most significant detail.

Hello, my name is Erin Donaldson, and I am back "en la jugada, " or In The Game, The Diary Game!! Thank you for taking time to read my post as we begin the second chapter of the second season of #the50daysofsteem.

Dear Diary - Interesting Things Always Happen Over Coffee

The first of September began like a Monday, even though it was Tuesday. Monday was my birthday, but Sunday was the party so I spent most of Monday a little stuffy in the head and not up to doing much. I did however go out and drink coffee with friends - at a coffee shop that invited me for a free coffee and cake, for my birthday.


Birthday coffee yesterday!

My morning was spent getting dressed, make-up, emails and Facebook post scheduling for the month of September. It's time for me to circulate all relevant content and advertise my tours/consulting for foreign residents. By October I think the international borders will open in Colombia. Could be an interesting time for expatriation.

Lunch was gluten-free garbanzo noodles with beans, ripe plantain and meatballs. As soon as I finished eating I finished organizing my agenda and left for downtown. I had to go to an ATM, then make a few purchases. Since it was still early, I called a friend who I know is always in this area, to meet for coffee.


In the main Plaza Bolivar - I was sitting behind this statue at the cafe.

When I go out, I usually catch up with friends for coffee - according to who lives/hangs out in whichever part I am going to. I have three parts of Manizales where I pass through or hang out on a regular basis. And they are my secrets. You might guess some of them if you read my posts.

A curious note about the main picture of this post. As we were visiting over coffee, soldiers arrived in a very crisp fashion, established a perimeter, created a smaller box, hung a Colombian Flag - then proceeded to stand guard. I suppose the concept could be interpreted in two ways. 1. Colombia is proud that it is opening its economy up and the military is simply showing off their guns and reminding everyone that they are here to protect la Madre Patria. 2. The reopening is a sign of deeper instability, and this is an intimidation tactic, or show of force, to remind the peons that the military will do whatever it takes to protect the federal government in the case of an uprising. But this is a very quiet city, so I don't see the uprising scenario happening anytime soon.

As I was chatting over coffee with my poet friend, another great intellectual showed up - Carlos Missas, a unique personage of Manizales who was the model for the Condor Bolivar statue almost 40 years ago! He regaled us with stories of his life and history notes about the city. He is a classic example of a Paisa Colombian entrepreneur as he has filled many unique and interesting pairs of shoes in his lifetime.

A bit of time passed and my two companions had to move on, but before I could get up and leaved I was introduced to a potential business contact, and my afternoon became a valuable networking opportunity. This is how the coffee culture of Manizales functions to generate activities in this small mountain city high in the Andes.

As 4:30 came around, I had to jump up, pay my tab and run down the hill to La Galeria to finish up my shopping. I made a quick run up into a poor neighborhood nearby to give a small contribution to a foundation. 10% of the income I generate with my brand "Coffee Axis Travel," goes to this small local charity that distributes food and educational events to carefully identified families which have real needs. This way, I ensure I am giving back to a city that has given me a great life.

By 5:30 I had finished all my errands and caught a bus home. It is good to still be in Season 2 of #thediarygame, but also sad because due to economic activation it is also my last season as I prepare to start traveling again within my region doing lifestyle consulting, digital marketing and tourism. I also have a small and exclusive group of English Students who are intermediate to advanced level who need my assistance for breaking bad habits, polishing pronunciation and bridging the gap between robotic institute English and being able to confidently communicate in the real world.

I must hurry to finish this because I have to get my son out of the bath, read him a book, and put him to bed. Grandmother reported a very naughty little boy today who didn't want to do his school work today so bedtime will be 8:30 PM on the dot. Between raising a puppy and a 5-year-old child, we are both a bit frazzled.

My mantra is "it will get easier soon." And it will as the puppy gets his first shot tomorrow allowing him to go out in the street and to nearby parks to do his business without worrying about him getting sick, or contracting diseases from contact with other dogs. We are also still doing some flea combat too - but that is also diminishing as I keep doing vinegar baths and some monkey grooming.

Feliz noche ya'll.

If you feel a kindred spirit with my DIARY entry in times of Coronavirus, New Opportunities and Colombia, then do your part to help a neighbor! Be sure to upvote, comment and/or give me a resteem, of this post. Tell a friend - and join #thediarygame so we can all bring home the rewards of high quality content curation on the @SteemitBlog ecosystem during #the50daysofsteem

I am a proud member of Team Colombia with @marpa @franyeligonzalez @josevas217, and @helengutier2.

If you missed my last post from Day #25, you can read it HERE: https://steemit.com/thediarygame/@openmindedtravel/the-diary-game-or-08-25-20-or-day-25-coffee-in-villamaria

Sort:  

Wou, con que de cumpleaños,
¡Feliz cumpleaños Erin! Que vengan cosas bellas para ti. ♥️

Me alegra que todo esté empezando a moverse, que tengas nuevos contactos y que pronto estés pensando en viajar para continuar con tu proyecto. Muchos éxitos en todo. Por otro lado una vez el cachorro tenga vacunas, como tu dices, con él todo será más fácil. Espero tu pequeño haya disfrutado el cuento de esta noche.

Saludos y descansa.

#onepercent
#colombia

Hola @Marpa, como estas? Muchas gracias! Todo esta reactivando - voy poniendo las pilas otra vez a trabajar. Siento muy positiva, y voy super con mi cachorro! Hoy recibió su primera vacuna - pero estaba como dolida despues. Un abrazo! #onepercent # colombia

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 21 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 2 SBD worth and should receive 30 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Thanks truffle darling! Have a great week! Thanks for coming back around!

happy birthday chica

Thank you for taking part in The Diary Game on Steem.

Sorry we missed the voting window on this post. An extra vote will be added to your next Diary Game post.

Happy Birthday!

The Steemit Team

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58309.71
ETH 2617.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42