The Diary Game | 08/23/20 | Day #23 - Flying KitessteemCreated with Sketch.

With almost no effort, the wind up on the hill slid the kite out of my hand and up to the end of the string. Maintaining pressure I slowly fed out the line bit by bit. As my kite caught the currents and drifted higher I felt a sort of joyful exhilaration that I hadn't felt before in quite some time. I had taken my son out to fly a kite, but while he found himself more interested in the playground I re-connected with my inner child.

Today, I flew a kite with my son!

All pictures are my original photography and rights are restricted to Open Minded Traveler. I use a Sony NEX-3N and basic photography principles, plus a Samsung S7. Most pictures are edited using Canva Pro.

Dear Diary - In Colombia, August is the month of wind and flying kites

Our morning started overcast, but dry. Kites don't fly well in a rain storm. After the rain from last night, the birds were singing louder and happier than ever. We sat up on my terrace so we could hear them during our Bible study.

Like every Sunday, today is our ritual to go out walking. Today we went to fly a kite in the highest part of the neighborhood, called Alta Cumbre. The park has what I consider to be one of the most beautiful views of Manizales. My son played for over an hour while I flew the kite. He was more interested in the playground. Perhaps the kite-flying in May is simply a bunch of adults pretending they are doing it for their kids. Either way, we enjoyed it tremendously.

We arrived home just in time for lunch. I forgot to take a picture. We ate Venezuelan tamales, not impressive to look at, but tasty. They are corn paste with chicken, beef, spices, capers, an olive or two! And then it was nap time for Daniel and I - he was tired from our walk up to the top where we flew the kite. Long nites as a dog mom, and busy weeks of running around has had me a bit low on energy lately.

Ten minutes after waking up from my nap, a friend showed up to pick up a cheese she asked me to buy her. The rest of the afternoon was visiting with my friend, and then ice-cream with my son. Sundays doing things with Daniel are my best days.

Initially, I had understood that a curator was going on vacation much to my angst. Later, I discovered from @steemitblog, that we are ALL taking a week off. And you know what? I think we all need it. Writing every day is a hard grind. As many economies slowly begin to show signs of life many of us are starting to work more as well. Kudos to the event organizers for perceiving the need to take a break even before many of us did. Thank you!

As bring this to a close it is 8:21 PM - Bogota time, and I am exhausted. Tomorrow is a new week!

If you feel a kindred spirit with my DIARY entry in times of Coronavirus, New Opportunities and Colombia, then do your part to help a neighbor! Be sure to upvote, comment and/or give me a resteem, of this post. Tell a friend - and join #thediarygame so we can all bring home the rewards of high quality content curation on the @SteemitBlog ecosystem during #the50daysofsteem

I am a proud member of Team Colombia with @marpa @franyeligonzalez @josevas217, and @helengutier2.

If you missed my last post from Day #22, you can read it HERE: https://steemit.com/thediarygame/@openmindedtravel/the-diary-game-or-08-22-20-or-day-22-puzzle-loser

Sort:  

Que maravilla lo de las cometas, hace muchos años no elevo una, es más, creo que jamás logré elevar una 🤣🤣🤣.

Definitivamente estos días con tu hijo, son lo mejor, me alegra que tu vida en Manizales te permita esoz vivir tranquila en familia.

#onepercent
#colombia

Es muy cierto que estamos viviendo una maravilla - gracias a Dios! Me encanta ese onda con mi hijo.

Thank you for taking part in The Diary Game on Steem.

Keep following @steemitblog for the latest updates.

The Steemit Team

marconi....lightning....radio....even frankenstien?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58115.81
ETH 2623.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42