Day #27: The Revolutionary Act of Drinking Coffee With Friends | The Diary Game 06/25/20steemCreated with Sketch.

in #thediarygame4 years ago (edited)

Times magazine, in a special coffee edition in 2018, had an extensive article detailing the social, cultural and economic history of coffee. At one point it was outlawed towards the end of the middle ages. People were coming out of their mead and ale induced alcoholic stupors, causing more intense, mentally active conversations.

These events triggered the age old act of intellectualism, which stems naturally from drinking high quality coffee, in a calm and relaxing, yet energetic, environment.

Note: All photos are original photos taken by Yours Truly in Colombia.

Dear Diary - Coffee With Friends Can Heal Anxiety from the Coronavirus

Disclaimer: I am not suggesting that your aging grandmother who is terminally ill come out and join us. Naturally, proper hygiene, within reason, is an important part of life, and should always be observed, as each individual sees fit. But, please don't judge my opinion or force me to make health decisions based on your personal state of fear and anxiety.

Yesterday I participated in The Revolutionary Act of Drinking Coffee With Friends. We laughed, we conversed, we shared ideas and we all went home feeling intellectually stimulated. As part of the experience we also felt the caffeine in our cups, reduce the stress and anxiety in our heads.

One of the mainstays of Manizales culture is the simple act of drinking coffee with a friend. At least 50% of my weekly calendar has always been focused on inviting friends and contacts (or them inviting me), for coffee. Business is opened and closed more easily over a coffee than almost any other mode of interaction. It reassures us and gives us the inner fortitude to be at the top of our game during negotiations.

One of our companions confessed, that he discovered he had been spending quite a bit every day of the week, on coffee. In the end, it added up to quite a bit each month. I myself had to agree, that the coffee shop culture, combined with Colombian social norms, creates a very enjoyable low-key business environment. For the lifestyle alone, to me, it was worth every peso.

Later, conversing with a friend, her and I both agreed that we felt refreshed after that conversation - one that lasted for over 3 hours. It was that stress-lowering release of mental steem (pun intended), that is healing us of the anxiety from quarantine.

None of us are able to meet as frequently as previously, but, we all know Coffee With Friends it is a piece of local culture, that won't die out just yet. For us it is, for sure, our sacred therapy, an almost revolutionary act, of drinking that freshly brewed thunder bean which puts a bounce in our step.

The fresh locally grown, brewed, and served coffee, here in Colombia, has a magical quality which creates a high quality lifestyle, of friendships, and interactions, for people of all ages. #SteemBrewed

Drinking coffee could be the revolutionary act we need, to escape the stifling presence of being incarcerated in our homes, and given parole only on days that coincide with the last number of our cedulas, or national ID cards.

It's the perfect time to be courageous and take the risk of LIVING YOUR LIFE. Even without a face mask. We have been slowly dying since the day we were born. What does it really matter if we don't make it to a certain amount of years?

It is my choice, to take the risk that I might not catch an illness, which up til now, has only affected a small percentage of the population, and which I have a 99% chance of actually surviving.

I promise to observe basic hygiene by washing my hands and staying healthy. Prevention has always been a part of my lifestyle. If I cough, I will cover my mouth with my elbow. But, if you are willing to risk it all by giving me a hug, count on me to hug you back. Life is short, I choose to live it on the edge.

Staying home has its limits. Nobody can force you to come out and see us. You do what you feel is right. But, if you are suffering mental anxiety or stress from the quarantine, do it for your peace of mind. Drink coffee with a friend.

Be sure to support a LOCALLY OWNED business and help heal our neighborhoods, and communities. It's time to put our heads together to find the path forward into the future.

It only requires two things: An hour of your time, and $2 USD, or less.

Dear Reader, feel free to sound off in the comments below, about what your are doing for anxiety as your respective country comes out of lockdown. How do you feel? What are you doing for YOU? I want to know. And, a huge thanks to the @steemingcurators, and a few people who I see are coming back, and staying in touch. Thank you for your continued support!

Is it really Thursday?

If you feel a kindred spirit in my diary about times of coronavirus, pressure and overcoming - then do your part to help a neighbor get through to the other side by upvoting, and/or giving me a resteem, of this post. Tell a friend - and join #thediarygame so we can all bring home the rewards of high quality content curation on the @SteemitBlog ecosystem.

Sort:  

Thank you for taking part in The Diary Game on Steem.

Keep following @steemitblog for the latest updates.

The Steemit Team

This post has been rewarded by the Steem Community Curation Project. #communitycuration06

This account is currently being delegated to and operated by @greenhouseradio .We would love to invite you to come to our community in CANNA CURATE discord and share your post with us on an upcoming GROWING TOGETHER COMMUNITY FORUM.
IT IS A GREAT TIME TO WORK TOGETHER TO GROW STEEM.
image.png

https://discord.gg/gDTvGZF
#ComeGROWwithGHRO
RESPECT
#SteemOn

Sister very beautiful writing, thanks I wish you can give me some of your coffee by the way this scripture is for you.
1.jpg

Your comments are sweet and all, but I find it kinda half-hearted that you will take the time to write a comment, but NEVER an upvote from you. Seems kinda false, especially since so many of us here NEED the economic benefits. So, going forward, I am not going to take the time to read or respond to your comments if you won't even make the effort to upvote. Talk is cheap, and friendship has a price. I say the same thing to people who LOVE to read my stuff, but NEVER share to help me increase my views. Good luck.

Thanks sister, that is true, I will try from today to contribute to your success here and as you helped me to achieve this far.

Hola como estas, me encanto tu post yo soy adicta al café sino tomo café paso el día muy apagadita

Excelente, mi día tiene que tener un rico café a la primera hora de la mañana; una vez me despierto, mi forma de despabilarme es con un cafecito negro, lo tomo y me lleno de energía. Salir a tomar café con una amiga era un gusto inmenso, hablábamos y reíamos, ella ahora está en Chile y nos brindamos el café virtual. Así tocó.
Saludos cordiales.

You got me at coffee, great story

Thank you for being awesome! You just got upvoted by the @steemingcurators. We are voting with the Steemit Community Curator @steemcurator02 account to support the best content on Steemit!

Follow @steemingcurators and also the official @steemitblog for info about Steemit, contests and the Daily Diary Challenge! Share your stories on Twitter or other social media to get extra upvotes. Just comment the link in your posts!

Biggest Live Music contest on Steemit #MusicForSteem
Follow @musicforsteem and the official community on Steemit: MusicForSteem🎵
STEEM ON!

You have been upvoted by Steem Greeters from STEEM POD Project and we are voting with the Steemit Community Curator @steemcurator03 account to support the newcomers coming into steemit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94