THE DIARY GAME | 03.08.2020 | DAY 3: Video Call

in #thediarygame4 years ago (edited)

1550655123610.jpgTeaching our grandfather how to do finger heart.

I never had a chance to celebrate my birthday with my grandfather — my father's father — nor celebrating his birthday together. My mother told me I met my grandpa when I was four or five years old. I was a little kid, and I can't remember his face nor memory with him. Hence, it was good as I didn't meet him at all. But, I met him when I was 17 years old. When he met me, he was teary-eyed. I knew it was tears of joy. I promise him to come back on his birthday, but I broke my promise. First was because of school, next was because of work, and this year is because of the pandemic.

A week before his birthday, I told my Papa that he should bring along Lolo so we can video call. My father's hometown is a very secluded area. They need to travel for 30 minutes on a rough road and then climb to a hill to have a phone signal. Or, they can have another 10 minutes of travel to reach the area where there is a telecommunication tower.

I forced my grandfather to smile.

My father is in Zamboanga del Sur right now; my mother and sibs are in Lanao del Norte, and I am in Cebu City. Video calls will depend upon the availability of my father since he needs traveling to catch a phone signal.

So my father called me early in the morning. He gave the earphones to my grandpa, so we can talk. I sang a birthday song for him the moment I heard his voice. I asked what was the food they are preparing. We talked for several minutes then my father ended the call. He needed to call my mother and my siblings, so they can greet as well. After a few minutes, my mother initiated a conference video call. We took pictures of us together like a family picture—a blurry one, though.

Family Picture


I hope that someday when this pandemic is over, we can celebrate birthdays and holidays together. I spent my Christmas last year and New Year away from home. It was a first. I am expecting this year will be the second but hopefully, I can go home next year.


Invited by @fycee Team Philippines

I am participating in The Diary Game initiated by @steemitblog. Thank you and your teams' great initiative and support!

To know me better, you can check my introductory post: Hello Again, Steemit!

Writing should be fun and healing. Let's have some fun writing our open diary.


K N E E L Y R A C

Sort:  

This post has been rewarded by @steemcurator08 with support from the Steem Community Curation Project.
Follow @steemitblog to get info about Steemit and the contest.

Greetings from @anroja

Thank you @anroja and the rest of the team!

You're welcome

Hello to your grandpa my dear! Keep it up! It's so sweet of you to sing a happy birthday song to your grandfather. Let's not forget that they all need the sweetness in the world we can give.

My grandpa smiled so wide when I started singing. I think he loves it even though I was out of tune. Heheh. Yes! I agree with you! We need to express how much we love and value them. It's one of the many ways to show how grateful we are to our family.

Thank you for taking part in The Diary Game on Steem.

Sorry we missed the voting window on this post. An extra vote will be added to your next Diary Game post.

Keep following @steemitblog for the latest updates.

The Steemit Team

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63287.47
ETH 2569.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81