THE DIARY GAME | 02.08.2020 | DAY 2: A Good Food

in #thediarygame4 years ago (edited)



They say that time flies so fast when you're having fun. But, I was not having fun on the weekend. It was rather gloomy. I am still coping with the death of my two angels. And yet, the weekend had already passed swiftly. My weekend has always been uneventful. I was planning to do my laundry and mop the floor but I was feeling lazy. As always, I am a couch potato. The only constant event that happened from the very start of quarantine until now is my cooking session. The quarantine forced me to learn how to cook.

1998CAM_2020_08_03_22_18_40_FN.jpgMy budget-friendly Korean Stew. This was supposed to have spam and meat.


I used cabbage, hotdog, sotanghon and kimchi.

At lunch, I decided to make my version of the Korean Stew. I only used spare ingredients so it wasn't that fancy at all. We were supposed to buy groceries on Friday but we decided to move it to Wednesday since there are still vegetables left. I missed the Korean Army Stew served in one of the restaurants near the university I was working in before. It was delicious and I couldn't find online who sells this stew. There are some but not the same or similar to the Korean Stew I was looking for. That is why I tried making one, not legit, but still tasty.

After eating, I went back to my workspace. For the whole afternoon, all I did was write blogs. I had planned my weekend to watch The Umbrella Academy Season 2 and It's Okay To Not Be Okay. However, I was compelled to write blogs that I ended up writing a total of five blogs. I was in my zone. I didn't realize that it was already past seven in the evening.

Then, instead of cooking, we decided to order food for our dinner. We ordered "Lamaw". It was my first time eating this and it's delicious. Lamaw consists of a cup of rice, a boiled egg, three siomai, chili sauce toppings, chicharon, and a special sauce on it.


The Lamaw in Cebu City.


I remember Argine asked me if I have eaten Lamaw already. I gave her a puzzled and shocked look while thinking, why would I eat Lamaw? She was referring to the Lamaw in Cebu City which is delicious food for Cebuanos— a human food I should say. So, I replied to her that why would I eat food for the pig. Yes! The Lamaw in Cebuano is different from our lamaw in Lanao del Norte. It is food for the pig. She laughed and then told me that I should try it. And after a month, I had my first taste. I will probably order another one later this week.

Also, I learned a while ago that the lamaw in other parts of Mindanao like Surigao is a dessert made from scraped coconut meat (buko) and its coconut water mixed with condensed milk and biscuits or peanuts. I want to try that one, too! Soonest.


Invited by @fycee Team Philippines

I am participating in The Diary Game initiated by @steemitblog. Thank you and your teams' great initiative and support!

To know me better, you can check my introductory post: Hello Again, Steemit!

Writing should be fun and healing. Let's have some fun writing our open diary.


K N E E L Y R A C

Sort:  

This post has been rewarded by @steemcurator08 with support from the Steem Community Curation Project.
Follow @steemitblog to get info about Steemit and the contest.

Greetings from @anroja

Thank you @anroja and the rest of the team! :)

Nice Ang sarap Naman Nyan dear! 😋

Oo! Hehe. There's something sa rice or sa sauce na nagpapalasa ng lamaw. Kung titingnan mo lang parang normal lang siya no? heheh

Thank you for taking part in The Diary Game on Steem.

Sorry we missed the voting window on this post. An extra vote will be added to your next Diary Game post.

Keep following @steemitblog for the latest updates.

The Steemit Team

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62795.05
ETH 2941.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55