You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Tommy and The Boys Do All Hallows' Eve ~ Original Story and Original Photography About Trick or Treating and Such ~

What a happening and a big adventure! I can imagine excitement of those boys about Halloween. I like that also boys keep journals :) I wish I would have the same issues like they do.. what kind of mask am I going to wear? :D Sweet childhood.

You write it like you were one of those boys. It's catchy, funny and serious at times. I like how cool he was in front of his parents. Did you have fun? It was ok! :D Teenagers :)

Great writing! I had a good laugh! Thank you for sharing this non violent Halloween story :) It was my pleasure to experience Halloween through eyes of this little boy :)

Sort:  

Ah yes, the simple lives of youth. Where DOES it all go? Thanks for the compliments on my story. I really appreciate it, and glad you enjoyed it. And laughed, that is my goal in most posts, some humor. There's enough ghoulishness in the world to last for a while.
Do they/you celebrate this wacky holiday in Switzerland? I used to dress up, but haven't for awhile. Really should get back to it. Well, hope your day is a good one. Cheers.

When you work for an american company in Switzerland, you might have some kind of a Halloween party. I have heard that it started at school as well, now. Traditionally, there are pumpkin festivals with beautiful carved pumpkins that are illuminated during the night. It's held in a few villages and there are hundreds of pumpkins there. It's beautiful.. All the villagers must turn off the lights so that it's really dark and scary :) It's a great happening. I have missed it this year but will go again next year :)

Have a lovely weekend!

I think Halloween has been seeping into the fabric of many societies over the years. Maybe because people get to dress up and act goofy once a year, and cut loose. Since so many parts of life have gotten so serious, how can that be a bad thing. Usually it's all based in humor. Which I love.

Just wondering, is the festival of pumpkins there FOR Halloween, or something of like nature? Or is it different, a festival for fall or just for the joy of pumpkin carving? (They don't call me Curious G for nothing ( :

But I would love to see it. Talk about a barrel of fun and a photographic playground. I can only imagine the lit-up nature of it in the dark. Cool they are all so cooperative too. You really MUST do a future post on it for we Steemitian's.

I take photos for an alternative school here every Halloween, and wander the grounds late at night, taking photos of pumpkins the kids carve for the event. They line all the trails with them. I put out a post with a smattering of them LAST Halloween, it was fun. They are SO variable, and show the true creative, artistic spirit of the human folk that carve them. I don't usually add links on here, to keep from being annoying, but I'll be annoying today anyway, and add the link ( :
The Mediocre Pumpkin Has Landed

Thanks for the nice comment, I enjoy them (can you tell, blah blah blah), and have a nice Saturday in Switzerland. Cheers

I do agree with you. It's once a year, so why not. But there are some horrifying masks which should maybe not be shown to kids.. but nowadays, there is so much violence everywhere that it's difficult to protect them at a very young age anyway.

That is a good question. I must say I do not know it with certainty as I'm not Swiss :) I will however ask my Swiss friend and come back to you. I do assume it has something to do with the harvest as well. As now is the pumpkin season. I will go there next year and definitely share the photos on Steemit. It was raining this year so we didn't go. The place is very crowded and there are so many kids around which is not the best combination with the crappy weather.

I'm about to go to bed but I promise to check your post tomorrow :)

Have a lovely rest of Saturday and great Sunday!

I'm glad to see your extensive reply! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58478.56
ETH 2523.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36