Power never failed me - I'm back Steemit!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #thealliance7 years ago (edited)

Hurricane Irma can shove herself out of this state.

hurricaneback.png

Another song came to mind this time around, you probably know it:


Ain't nothin' gonna break-a my stride
Nobody gonna slow me down, oh no
I got to keep on movin'


[I am not sure why that came to mind but when I woke up this morning that is how I thought, and that is the song running through my head].
Song is by Matthew Wilder - Break my stride

I don't know how it happened, all I know is that my particular area came out pretty darn unscathed. Was it freaky? Yes At something like 11:30 pm or so, the winds just kept getting stronger. Midnight rolled around and we were hunkered down in our laundry room on a mattress no knowing what to expect as it continued to be inland (it shifted throughout the day, which no one apparently saw it coming). But once 1:30am rolled around, it got more quiet. I waited, and waited, and waited. I checked radars and news updates and it looked it for all intensive purposes it has passed my area. And guess what? We still had power.

I had been waiting all night to lose power. Everyone on our home owners facebook page, and all over the place kept mentioning how people close by had lost power. But we never did. Around 2:30am I decided to move my daughter onto her bed (temporarily her bed mattress on the ground beside my side of the bed) and we laid on the bed ourselves. This option is much more comfortable then all three of us shoved on a not so thick mattress (Queen - if even) in the laundry room, that apparently does not get much of the air conditioning, with a dog which I now know snores, and snores loudly.

Don't believe me? Here is a video with the clip of him snoring. The picture will be black so you won't see anything since it was dark in the room, but you will hear him.

This is a picture of my dog (Yes the snoring culprit)

kingcute.jpg

I was so exhausted from the last week of the media pushing how prepared we had to be and how bad this storm was going to be. So exhausted from watching it move from the East of the State to the West. So exhausted from the pressure changes in the weather around me. So exhausted from the worry about if I was doing enough, making sure I was prepared and all that. So exhausted even physically from the lack of sleep, the constantly moving things in the house from patio furniture, to boarding up our doors with heavy wood, to you name it. Once I hit the bed last night with a bit of a relieved smile on my face, I knocked out. I woke up still tired and in a very kind of down mental state, but we were fine. We woke up to air conditioning, and fans on, lights on, and our refrigerator on, and hot water, and fine water.

The Night, watching while Irma approaches

I took a few videos throughout the course of the night to show the wind, the rain, and some of the sounds (roar) of the incoming hurricane. Once it started to get really dark and extremely windy I did not return outside to video anything. Here is what I did capture though.


This is earlier in the evening when the wind was starting to pick up.


Wind has picked up even more and I didn't want to go outside. If you listen carefully you can hear the Television playing an episode of Friends.


This is my last video of the night. The wind got stronger and the rain was flying everywhere. If you listen carefully you can hear almost a constant roar like a train or truck in the background. That's the sound of a hurricane approaching.

The Aftermath

Like I said, because we were lucky where we were we didn't get anything too bad. So today, the day after here are some pics and such from my neighborhood showing the damage, as you can tell it is not really considered damage (besides some trees and fences).


This is a street near me where it shows the damage. This is pretty much just moss which has fallen from the beautiful Oaks trees around us. It littered the street and sidewalks. Broken branches and possible a couple of broken trees, but not much else.

hurricane1.jpg
A Beautiful Oak tree that lost all it's most and some branches in a nearby plaza

hurricane2.jpg
A couple of broken trees and a knocked down fence

hurricane3.jpg
A type of palm tree that lost all the top leaves and such.

With nearly 3 million people that lost power, and an estimated 52% of electricity customers just in my county alone, we were very lucky as a community to keep our power all throughout the night. There was one scare where we lost power for about 5 seconds, that's it. Although it was scary, it was interesting to go through. I wish I had more exciting pictures and stories for those of you who watched from far away and would love to see more interesting stuff, but also thankfully - I don't. I am thankful that my house is intact with no damage (even a good bit of my neighbors had something, but I didn't. I am thankful that my family was not harmed in any way. I am so thankful that we had power all through the night. All I can think of is that all the thoughts and love that were sent my way, especially from those on Steemit, really helped. If it did or if it didn't, depending on your beliefs, I still want to say from the bottom of my heart that I am thankful for this wonderful community.

Thank you for being awesome. Thank you for wishing me well. Thank you for upvoting my posts and when seeing me on discord and such asking how I was doing. I am back, with only a day in between, and I don't plan on leaving anytime soon.

Stay awesome Steemit!

alliancebanner2.png

teamcanada1.png

Sort:  

This post received a 20% vote by @msp-canada courtesy of @goldenarms from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

Good to have you back with us! Glad it wasn't as bad as you though, sounds like your preparation paid off.

Thank you. Yes I am so relieved it wasn't as bad as they thought it was going to be. Definitely felt better with the preparations :)

Glad you're ok. Your dog is cool and looks pretty pleased with himself.

Thanks :) Yes I am. My dog is pretty awesome. He's definitely a character. Keep a look out for a video about my dog, as per my daughters request to make one since I made one about the cats. She also requested one on her snail but I think that would bore a lot of people ha.

Wow! Nice upvote from curie. Good on you!

Wow that's crazy! I didn't see that one coming.

It's good to know that you are safe. I'm up north and watching the news the damage is insane.

Yes the damage south of me and along the islands leading up to getting to Florida were phenomenally devastating. Unfortunately there were some only 5 minutes down the road from me who live near a river that ended up with flooding damage. They lived through the hurricane only to find their homes and streets flooded two days after. I am so lucky throughout all of this it is just, I'm so so thankful for that.

Oh wow, looks like you were very lucky. Glad you are safe! Thanks for sharing the videos, we should all be aware of how lucky we are compared to some.

Absolutely! We can often get caught up in how "bad" things seem to be but we have to remember just around the corner than can be someone else who has a different and worse version of "bad". I will always be so thankful for how lucky I was throughout this. Thank you for your comment :)

@topkpop Your generate up is spectacular. Mad regard for sticking as a result of many of the hardships, Many of us would've Give up A great deal before..

Thank you for your kind words. I'm glad I went through it, and very thankful it didn't hit me that hard. Unfortunately a few people not too far away from me geographically did.

This post has been resteemed by @msp-canada courtesy of @goldenarms from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

Welcome back. And I'm glad you got through with your power intact.

Thank you :) Yes me too. I was sure I was going to lose it as a bunch all nearby were, but it was nice to wake up in the morning realizing we didn't. The power for others around us is still in the works of going back up but I heard some got it restored yesterday, while others still wait.

Glad to hear you are safe. We were just as lucky and only had to clean outside for the most part. I consider us blessed, some people just 10 minutes away are without power and projected to stay that way for a while. Glad to know your okay. Now for us to recover from the stress

So glad to hear you are okay and safe as well. Yes we definitely both got lucky then. I also can relate to people down the street that are without power. Unfortunately people down the street, only about 5 minutes away got flooding 2 days after all of it. They are having a much harder time now. It makes me look again and just be so thankful that I was spared stuff like that, I couldn't imagine. Today I will be unloading stuff from my garage and putting it back onto my lanai (what I can carry myself), and of course de-stressing. Thankfully so of course.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 63915.30
ETH 2740.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59