Mosaic art in the 2nd Ave line Subway Stations part 2

in #thealliance6 years ago

Mosaic art in the 2nd Ave line Subway Stations part 2

Another post in my Art in the Subway series this post we again visit the 72nd Street 2nd Ave Subway station with a few more shots of the very cool mosaics

2nd Ave Line 69th Street Station-13.jpg


Sony A6500 31mm F5 1/30 ISO 500
Click here to view larger


for my first shot in this post this is looking along one of the levels of the station and you can see many of the art pieces on the walls, I also went a bit artsy myself with this edit

2nd Ave Line 69th Street Station-11.jpg


Sony A6500 16mm F3.5 1/30 ISO 250
Click here to view larger


As I mentioned in the previous post the art In this station is by Vik Muniz's from Munich and the series of three dozen life-like portraits are called “Perfect Strangers”

2nd Ave Line 69th Street Station-12.jpg


Sony A6500 30mm F5 1/30 ISO 500
Click here to view larger



For this station the artist photographed many people who he felt could be representative of the unique and quirky characters who could well pass through this subway station and selected 3 dozen characters to be presented as MOsaic work in the subway station.

2nd Ave Line 69th Street Station-14.jpg


Sony A6500 19mm F4 1/30 ISO 320
Click here to view larger


Vik Muniz is a Brazillian born Artist Based in NYC and Rio De Janiero and is renowned for using unusual and unconventional materials

2nd Ave Line 69th Street Station-15.jpg


Sony A6500 28mm F4.5 1/30 ISO 640
Click here to view larger



I loved the colorful and realistic look of all his mosaics in this station as I said earlier from a distance many of them could easily be seen as real people when you initially see them, from a distance it’s hard to tell which are real and which are the art till the real people move.

2nd Ave Line 69th Street Station-16.jpg


Sony A6500 30mm F5 1/30 ISO 100
Click here to view larger


The Mosaics in this series at the subway station are made with Mosaic tile and glass

2nd Ave Line 69th Street Station-17.jpg


Sony A6500 20mm F4 1/30 ISO 400
Click here to view larger


I honestly think my photos do not fully give justice to these very cool Mosaics, but they do give a taste for the beautiful art in this station

This is post two of three of this station. if you visit or live in NYC and haven't checked out these stations I really do recommend going and seeing them for yourself.


Unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.

steemusa is a growing Community for and supporting those from of in the United States,check out the latest post or join us on Discord


If your interested in thealliance Check out the latest posts


JJ footer alliance steemusa and steemengine.jpg

thealliance_tattoodjay.png



!steemitworldmap 40.767450 lat -73.959503 long 69th Street NYC d3scr

Sort:  

those are amazing! The detail is quite something when you get up close to them. That first picture is driving me crazy though! because its just to the right of being perfectly centered it is somehow screwing with my brain lol!

Aren’t they just

Ohh yeah I see what you mean now it is annoying me 😂

Lol! Sorry mate 😂

No worries 😉

No worries 😉

That mosaic look with how they created those is amazing. I do have say NYC seems to put a lot of effort in creating a very visually pleasing areas all around the city. I really like the police officer holding some kind of treat. That is some amazing detail in clothing, and textures of the skin.

That police officer one is indeed so cool
There is so much to see in NYC for sure
Some visually pleasing but it does also have its darker sides

I was hoping to see more of these. It really is amazing to me how the artists are able to make mosaic art look so real. My favorite of this batch is the older guy holding the globe. :)

The talent of the artist is amazing without a doubt

Thanks for passing on this mosaic art work, which most will never see in person.

That’s why I do a lot of my city shots have many friends and family all over the globe who may never get here

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=tattoodjay
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=mosaic-art-in-the-2nd-ave-line-subway-stations-part-2


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

thanks for sharing!

And thanks for visiting

Beautiful art by all standard @tattoodjay

Thanks kindly

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 15 February 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

I love the diversity of the portraits on display, I guess that truly reflects New York.

They are great and yes this very much reflects the diversity in NYC

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63096.57
ETH 2954.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55