Geese chasers?

in #thealliance7 years ago

Geese chasers - do they work

st Geese chasers.jpg

In Milford around the duck Ponds, there was some concerns about all the Geese in the area and that because of people feeding them to often some were not migrating and apparently this was not good for the Geese or the Pond area.

So these fake dogs

which leads to a question which was debated a lot on FB, do these look like dogs or coyotes to you?

byway back to the burned at hand, these were put up in various places in the Duck Ponds and along the water earlier this year, now you may think they worked well since there are no geese in this shot

st Geese chasers 2.jpg

However a scene like this just off to the left in my first shot, may be negating the effect of the Goose Chaser/fake dog thingies, this couple had a huge bag of feed for the ducks and geese and were enjoying themselves feeling them.

Although you cannot see them in this shots there are signs in many spots around the pond saying not to feed the ducks and Geese, However I do so often see people at the ponds feeding with Bread, which I have to admit I remember doing as a child but now I have read various articles saying that Bread is one of the worst things to feed the Ducks and geese with.

At least this couple seemed to have some sort of grain food mix which I imagine would be better, but I did find it amusing that I saw these two scenes so close together

steemusa has just been launched check out the launch post and contest

0C4F5C5D-20A7-426D-91F9-8C772D52A165-587-00000086986B2860.png

All photos on this blog are taken by myself, mostly with a Sony Mirrorless camera

With the Festive season approaching if you're interested in ordering prints check out Singing With Light photography

And with a new year approaching order calendars here

JJ steemit banner w steemusa.jpg

If your interested in thealliance Check out the latest post
Or Chat with us on Gamma Syndicate on Discord

!steemitworldmap 41.222014 lat -73.057572 long Downtown Milford CT d3scr

Sort:  

We tried putting fake owls up to keep ducks and birds out of our plant and it had little to no effect. Didn't realize about feeding ducks bread though.

I see those owls everywhere, my sister had some at her house in NZ, where they were everywhere, I didnt notice much of a difference but they all claimed they were great

I suspect they didnt want to admit they spent money on owls that do nothing

That's probably the truth.


Nice to meet you, @tattoodjay!
I wanted to welcome you to the community, follow you, and hopefully watch @OriginalWorks support you as well!

#WelcomeWednessday

Thanks for your visit and support it is truly appreciated

Absolutely! Nice post! I would love to try join Team USA! I joined the discord server!

I see you arrived in Gamma Syndicate for the alliance, talk to you there

Omg that is too funny.. we have fake horses everywhere....

Lol you do what are the fake horses for

Decorations.. they are everywhere.. people paint them.. they get moved around every so often to different spots lol

That’s real cool I like that idea

image

I have more from around town on my external drive

you should do a post on it.....that's really interesting!!! Toronto used to have painted moose (meese?) all over town too. I love things like this.

Lol I should make a post about it. I am going to assume there were a lot of meese in your town???

There were a few years ago, but I haven't been downtown in a long time so I don't know. They were interesting and artfully decorated.

I don't know why multiples of moose aren't meese....makes no sense. But English is a very difficult language.

Thats a beautiful one, you should do a post about these

Beautifull place and very many swans.
I think is this garden very comfortable to relaxed in the time at afternoon.

No, the fake dogs are too fat to be coyotes. lol People will feed the animals/birds even when they know they shouldn't. In Elliot Lake, Northern Ontario they have a problem with bears coming into town because people were leaving food out for them. I don't know if they have rectified the problem...

That was my thought as well
Yes I am sure similar happens all over the place

lol.....we have that problem here too....and the city hired dogs to chase the geese away - it didn't work...now we have a high pitch buzz going off and on all day - I can hardly hear it but the geese are supposed to. Nope. They are not tricked at all by this stuff. I don't mind them, I just mind what they leave behind.

Your photo is very serene and inviting. You really do live in a pretty town.

The fake dog art is kind of fun for me and adds to the landscape! lol....

I think they tried the sound thing as well the guesses haven’t seeme dot be phased by any of the attempts

They do not really bother me, same as you apart from the droppings, but apparently they are messing up the balance of the eco system at the ponds

Yes they are....but the whole world is unbalanced....so they are just following the fad :) hehe

Yes so true I have to agree unbalanced is seeming to become the norm

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=tattoodjay
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=geese-chasers


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

I've been chased by flocks of geese in two states and it was no joke. Those things are very territorial and scary. Bad memories!

The fake dogs do not look like coyotes. They are too fat and the snout is too short :)

Yes back home I remember being chased by Geese the can be so nasty

I think it looks like a dog also

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png

Check The Daily spotlights of 28 November 2017! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights

Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67421.82
ETH 2623.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68