Sharing Peace

in #thealliance6 years ago (edited)



Do you have something that has been in your life forever? Something that gives you peace when you see it?

The Alliance (@thealliance) is on a mission to spread more joy all over Steem. I thought I would share a memory of something that gives me peace in hopes a bit of that wonderful feeling will spread it's way to you.

Please meet Ernest. He's a nice guy. Though, through time, I found out he scared a few people. Nor sure why. I always found him comforting.

On cold Winter nights, while bundled up reading a book by the fireplace, he was always there watching. He was there to play blinking games with or to tell tales too if the feeling was right. Ernest and his weird greenish blue background were always in plain sight.

He was a strong silent type, never said much, but you always knew he was there to make sure no harm was done.

He has since moved to a corner in a new house that makes you aware he is still watching. Though only for those who know where to look will they figure out his role.

A simple painting, not a whole lot to it, yet...He says so much if you but listen. You can spend hours looking at him. I have to be sure, and still, find there is a mystery in him.

His aura is strong yet gentle when you are around him. He has learned well to fly under the radar so not many actually see him. Those that do find the magic in him whisper about it. Tis true.

In my mind's eye he will always be nested in next to a fieldstone fireplace. I think he misses his first hidden corner as much as I do. Life always moves on and with it new places. At least he can still hide, like he likes to do, while emanated strength to those that see.



What makes a painting great?

A painting, almost fifty-five years later, which invokes feelings.



Make someone smile today. It can not hurt you and it might save their life.


Love,

Snook



Steem Witness's I support

Enginewitty!, Steemgigs!, Jackmiller!, Guiltyparties!, C0ff33a / Deranged!

The STEEM Engine

Sweet footer made by @enginewitty!

Sort:  

I will say my parents has been with me and have always given me peace. Painting like you said, when a painting expresses a feeling or a sense of feelings rather, it can be regarded as a great painting as not the beautiful expression of the painting but the impression to the heart

but the impression to the heart

so very true!!!! :D

Amazing how you just made a painting come to Life like that @snook. Or maybe he is really alive in kind of like another Dimension :)

he is really alive in kind of like another Dimension :)

I think so :D

Thank you sweets, I can see why you could spend hours listening to the painting. Is captivating.

Thanks. I always wondered if it was just me that could see 'it'

hugs

Volumes spoken in quiet simplicity! ❤️

so very true but isn't that usually the case when it comes to important things? People just have to stop and listen.

Yes! A painting (or poem, or book, or any kind of art) that invokes feelings again and again is one that was done well. Love this! :)

Thank you!!!! he's pretty awesome in my book!!

Love and Hugs!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 17 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 3 SBD worth and should receive 196 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Thank You!

Handsome Ernest the Watchful. Giving you peace and comfort with his reliable constant presence.

That's a great painting. Was it made by a family member or a friend?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57673.98
ETH 2343.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37