You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I went to Tennessee this weekend, and all I got was drunk and @lukestokes (but I heard he got drunker)

in #thealliance6 years ago

I'm looking forward to having you on my show in a couple weeks! (actually, we still need to set a date, I think). I'll tell Cork to be a nice audience boy so we can have some fun.

Sort:  

Cork will do as he wills, as far as I've seen. I just hope he wills being nice to people because he cares about them (not because of what he can gain from them).

Looking forward to the show. :)

I think he’s like me in that regard: I absolutely cannot affect a false pretense even to get something I want very badly. As the director of a nonprofit, this has worked against me many times when it comes to fundraising. But I just can’t do it. I see a lot of similarities between me and Cork and I don’t think he is any more capable of guile than I am. Lots of righteous indignation, though. Thing about that is, just because one is entitled to feel righteous indignation doesn’t mean that expressing it is going to do them any favors. I joined this witness partnership knowing exactly what I was getting into. Eyes wide open. But I also hope that over time, we find a different kind of pace to set as a team that is more productive than either one of us can be independently. If that means moderating personality styles, I think Cork and I both have it in us to do it.

I know he appreciated having a long discussion with you. It meant a lot to him that you would take the time to do that, not just for the sake of an audience, but for the sake of brass tacks. I know he was able to discuss some stuff with you that a lot of guys won't do. Can't speak for him, but I think he respects you more after that. Wish I could have been there.

P.S. Who did your portrait? It's pretty good.

Gain from them? I literally give EVERYTHING away and spend around 140+ hours a week here coaching, counseling, teaching, advising, helping and growing our users capabilities and understandings.

Yeah I'm angry, cause most of our top 20 witnesses are incredibly out of touch with what goes on with the user communities on this platform of all types, and this kind of remark completely demonstrates that.

sigh but hey, you've got 10K posts, right? LOL "engaged"

I speak for the people Luke, You speak pretty much for you, cause your feelz or something, I don't even know what.

Not to mention I got a lot more people I'm nice to, than one's I'm not nice to, so perhaps those on the short list should look within and around more often, and the rest should continue to be the awesome people they are. :D

Ask the people you are closest with, the ones you trust, if you have room to grow and change or whether or not it's just everyone else. If you listened closely during our discussion, many agreed with me that it's not just everyone else and a lot of it is you. That's tough truth, but there it is. Don't take it from me, but ask them and honestly listen.

But if you enjoy being angry, there's nothing anyone can do about that. I've put in my 2 cents and then some on what I think would help you and the community you lead to be more effective. Take it for what it's worth.

I chose my words carefully based on our actual conversation. You said you are not nice to certain people because you have nothing to gain from them. Those were your words. My remark has nothing to do with the community and everything to do with you as an individual and how you choose to treat people.

You speak pretty much for you, cause your feelz or something, I don't even know what.

I have over 5,000 witness votes and am regularly communicating with many people on this platform. Just because it hasn't happened yet in your specific Discord world to your satisfaction, doesn't mean it doesn't happen. I'd be happy to join up and talk more there, but not if I'm just going to be discounted and discredited as you are attempting to do in this comment. Making false claims about me speaking for myself for "feelz or something" doesn't help your argument but makes you look petty. Please, don't revert back to this language because you didn't use it when we spoke face to face. Be the same person offline and online and not just based on who happens to be in the audience.

I'm speaking exactly the same way online and offline, and the same people are still beside me.

Thing is, you are putting words in my mouth, like you've tried to twice with the one-voter/sybal topic for example, not listening, just resorting to the same old pat answers.

You can go on playing the "good guy", that's a much easier sale than real accountability or conviction or truth most of the time, and it's easy to get applause with it.

As for me? I know what I do, how I do it, what I get done and what my peers get done, I know my name is all over the platform because of what I do, and I know the sentiment with which I am greeted everywhere is completely positive ... except in one certain powerful circle, which is pretty much exactly on fricking purpose, and obvious without a shadow of a doubt, because those are the people that are afraid of people like me, and others like me, of which there are more than you want to admit, who are unhappy with the way the old guard has let the platform evolve, and we're coming up to change it.

Like it or not, and I suspect you don't like it. Some of your peers definitely do not, especially as more people become aware of who is who.

Happy to see that report you make show an increase in voting. I attribute that directly to awareness efforts begun and continued since months ago now by @shadowspub, @enginewitty, @ura-soul,@anarcho-andrei, @guiltyparties, @ancapbarbie, @katrina-ariel, @sargento, @battleaxe and so many others who also chimed in with posts and attendance at all the witness forums which were truly open invitation, non-exclusive events.

You'll recognize those names as my peers on #TeamGood - our universal call sign for change in regime.

You can be nice all day. The mass of the community is waking up to who does what with what effects and results for THEM.

Just because it makes you or others I take on uncomfortable, well, that might be for a solid reason or two...

Boys boys boys. Settle down. Cork, don't get so defensive. It's not a flattering color on you. Luke, we all know you had to bite your tongue over the weekend and behave very diplomatically. No sense in undoing that now.

You guys both do a lot for the platform. If you wanna do a pissing contest, then put it on the air, on my show. I'd be happy to schedule a legitimate debate.

Bring it on the air and handle it like real men. Luke is coming on in a couple weeks and I plan on it being a pleasant and lighthearted show, sipping lemonade on the porch sort of thing.

We could turn it into a witness deathmatch then, but I'd rather sip lemonade with Luke and schedule a different day. Up to you guys. But I think you both are legitimately brilliant. And I'd love to see a proper duel about ACTUAL issues at some point soon.

I spoke the same way in person and didn't hold back at all. IMO, I used the same language then as I am now. Those who were there can decide if I'm mistaken.

There's not much to debate. Cork is upset at people he feels wronged by. That doesn't have much to do with me. I suggested (and still do) he take a different approach in communication to care about the people he talks to instead of intentionally pushing buttons because he sees their offense as character flaws. I think that will help him and the community he's building. He disagrees. That's pretty much it.

The in-person discussion was pretty intense. I'm not upset.

I think you both have a point. He's upset by some wrongs that seem pretty serious. On the other hand, perhaps he could take a gentler approach.

Either way, are you saying you don't want to do a legit duel on the air? I'll keep it fair. :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60238.27
ETH 3215.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46