You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Self Prescribing Medicines for Underactive Thyroid

in #thealliance6 years ago

Oh, this does not sound like fun at all... I have a colleague who had cancer in the thyroid. I was talking to her on our last tour, and she was saying that she has a huge deal of problems with the medication, either too much or too little, and that she could only do a twice yearly blood test to determine the "right" amount of medication to take...

Sort:  

yes, unfortunately this is the standard for thyroid bloods. Once they have you at optimal levels, they assume you will stay that way for at least 6 months, but that is not always the case. Mine fluctuates quite a bit so my bloods were being done every 8 weeks, but they changed it to 6 months after my last consult.

Strange that it can't be done more often. I would have thought that blood lab work was getting cheaper and greater. But then I would honestly not know anything about!
My colleague said that her lifestyle changes so much from season to season that it is pretty much guaranteed that every season she is going to be out of whack with the dosage.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59715.05
ETH 3186.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42