The Collective is Starting to Push Back!

in #thealliance7 years ago (edited)

More than a couple rather Heavy Hitters on here all seem to be having a Synchronized moment of ......"ENOUGH IS ENOUGH!" No matter if you are brand new or have been here since Steem started, the climate reached a level of toxicity where there are some large players coming out to call for some type of level of ethics and decency.
tumblr_mr9n2dPA1B1sdccy0o2_500.gif
Tumblr_nroymjxRdb1u6fo8vo1_500-1.gif
Just because this place is decentralized does not mean that basic and fundamental rights that ensure a safer platform are to be ignored. At times this manifests as very large scam rings and some of the ones preaching love and light the loudest are the nastiest humans I have ever come across. EVERY SINGLE PERSON I brought into Steemit left after seeing attacks on here that at times equate to Group Stalking and viewing the absolute cesspool that is SOME of the trending page.
Tumblr_nroymjxRdb1u6fo8vo1_500-1.gif
If you have the vast majority of users loathing a feature like the trending page then most rational leaders/large stakeholders would remove or change a page that glorifies what amounts to some form of Malginant Narcissism at best. I am not saying all of the Trending Page by any means BUT there are obvious and known "Ecosystem Citizens" who basically are blackballed by "Team Good". Why after pages of SP Delegation Abuse has been written and published are some of the same players STILL at it?

Perhaps a better question would be, WHY ARE THEY STILL ALLOWED TO GO AT IT? The majority on here do not want censoring and such yet it happens in its own way through other means and the fact that some dolling out SP like candy took no responsibility in how it was used. Bitching about the current Geo-Political system then morphing into that which you preach against is like Stalin giving Mao a lecture on Civic Responsibility...

for more inconvenient truths, gonzo style musings and helpful tips, follow @battleaxe
battleaxe_blue.pngthealliance2.png

20180204_104332.png
(tumblr, TENOR)

Sort:  

Yes... this is one of the main reasons I have a hard time with the whole "you must network to get votes" thingy... I have had enough bad experiences in Cyberspace that it makes me very nervous to open myself up to large numbers of people that I don't know very well... So I have mostly just kept to myself and followed a few people who I see to be decent reasonable and kind human beings... It's been a long tough grind... but I sort of feel on my feet now... but I agree with you -- there's a really vicious kind of element lurking if you dig in too deep and many people don't want to get sucked in. :( HUGS

nail hit on head

Yeah, I every once in a while I come across a post that scares the bejeezus out of me. I mean, if you piss the wrong person off you might as well say goodbye to your account. Downvote, flag, downvote...there goes all your stuff, just because. How can we as a community come together to change it though? When there's enough whales that just give a middle finger to the ideal which is supposed to be this community?

I think we should stop waiting on the magical whales and be magical for ourselves imho
power in numbers, a lot of whales are perfectly nice and have no need to interact on here, for them they are all business which is fine ...it is when it turns into maliciousness that shits all over everybody that some collective tide may need to turn imho

How does one overthrow those who have such immense amounts of power that can so easily scare others?

we form our own little worlds in Discord usually, lol :)

Hehe, through alliances, tribes, families :)

You speak the truth :(
Hopefully this will all be sorted in a better way.

some of the ones preaching love and light the loudest are the nastiest humans I have ever come across.

So nice to read that :D

Amen brother.

@battleaxe Got a 46.89% Vote via @steem-global

Send any amount of STEEM or SBD Over 1.000 & Recieve a RANDOM @klye VOTE
Make sure to include the link to your post in the memo field of the transfer!
( Any amounts < 1.000 STEEM or SBD will be considered donations )
Vote power is Generated via RNG (Random Number Generator)
USE AT YOUR OWN RISK, THIS IS AN EXPERIMENTAL SERVICE

GOOD On ya, Klye... You were one of my first witness votes cast. Glad to see you on

TEAM GOOD

I have always been a human curator. Not going to lie though, with all this drama. I went to the minnow booster site to check out how much I would get for delegating my SP.. It's a decent amount. I thought about giving up this human curator role with all the Ned Vs Dan drama, and Hejin drama, and fuzzy drama. All the drama.

I'm not going to though for the reasons you showed. It would make me like everyone else really.. It would start morphing me into them.

Thanks for your words, you are appreciated!

thank YOU! ahhh is music to my ears that you are staying manual curation, I can't do this any other way
appreciate the awesome comment

I don't really understand what is going on enough to make an intelligent comment, except to say that the "Trending" page is indeed embarrassing, and it is also a little embarrassing to tell my friends "Oh, just hide from" this account, or that account. Like I said, I don't really know what is going on, that is the best advice I can offer. Pimp steemit for all the free speech, then when they show up I am like "Oh, but don't say anything about THAT, or THAT, or THAT..."

A-freaking-men

I have gotten a lot of dm's in private of being in fear on this platform, I sometimes ask of who and see which groups, names are common themes

Yep, time to roll some heads... and you know where heads are? At the top... some few deserve to be there, but quite a few others deserve to be taken down a peg.

And all the way out of the top 50 (:{-

In the tradition of Dtube, Dlive, Dmania, etc, let's open Dbag. If you join, you forever have to upvote the person to your left after the person on the right upvotes you. A perpetual wave or circle jerk we can send all the Dbags to. cjerk <-- from Giphy.com

@battleaxe (64) my friend a well renowned writer and author in Academia showed great interest in joining steemit and I tried to encourage him to do so telling them how his articles and well-thought-out authorship would do well on this platform emoji book pen writing tools, and then I realized somewhere along the line as I've come to know the environment better that success on this platform has a great deal more to do with policy, joining Bots, paying for services, then I had previously realized emoji eyeballs looking inward and realizing self, now I no longer Rapture daily among my Facebook friends because I realize that the Hoops one has to jump through to gain that one strives for here has a price to pay emoji big bag of money guns and fishing nets

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 59944.92
ETH 2307.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48