Day 50: President for a DaysteemCreated with Sketch.

The 100 Days of Steem Day: Challenge #50 asks that we imagine ourselves as president for a day.

The first thing I would do is read The US Constitution.

The US Constitution created three branches of government: The legislature passes laws; the president administers the laws; and the courts handles disputes. This balance of power is fundamental to the ideas of the US Founders.

If I were president, I would administer the laws of the land ... even those that I disliked.

President Obama and President Trump are both guilty of trying to behave like kings. Both rule through fiat rather than through legislation.

It is impossible to put the US back into Constitutional order in a single day. If I were president for a day, I would probably spend that day weeping.

image.png

Quite frankly, I think the "President for a Day" question is not only naive. It is destructive. We do not solve any problems by asking this question. What we do is encourage people to think dictatorially.

If I could issue a stream of fiats; what would my fiats be?

Well, I don't like fiats.

A better question is how should free society function in the modern world?

The people who dream of power end up engaging in destructive activities when they gain power. The people who dream of powerful executives end up supporting the likes of Obama, Trump, Bush, Jinping and Putin. These strong armed leaders tend to lead nations in negative directions.

Sort:  

Thank you for taking part in the latest 100 Days of Steem Challenge.

Keep following @steemitblog for new challenges every week.

The Steemit Team

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62956.16
ETH 2588.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74