You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 100 DAYS OF STEEM : Day 20 - Weekly Photography Challenge #3

The challenges are ideal for accounts in the plankton. It is a chance to write something knowing that a whale account will read and likely vote on.

The challenges are the only real source of income for plankton accounts on the platform.

The one problem I see with #photographychallenge03 is that the challenge is likely to leave the platform covered with Steemed Vegetables .

Sort:  

Thank you for adding my comment. I agree in principle with your arguments. A more differentiated view would fill an entire article, so please understand that I will try to be brief.

The challenges are ideal for accounts in the plankton. It is a chance to write something knowing that a whale account will read and likely vote on.

Yeah, that's right. In any case, the challenges are an opportunity to draw attention to yourself. And that's the most important thing: to be successful, you need readers who like your content.
On the whole, however, I also see this as a problem of the reward system. Why should content be "better" if a whale sees and votes for it? This is something I think we should work on.

The challenges are the only real source of income for plankton accounts on the platform.

And that is a great pity, because good articles should be the source of your income.
That's one reason I took part in the challenge - a kind of test.
I don't want to say that my articles are very, very good, but they are (and always have been, because I always make an effort) worth more than a "Hello, I found a golden monster card" from a whale with whale friends. As an advocate of good posts, I wanted to see how far @steemitblog and @steemcurator01 really perceive the texts. And I have to say: they are doing a good job.
Of course they can't keep it up in the long run and so I think the campaign to appoint curators for individual communities is very good. If these curators start voting "crap" just because someone is a plankton, the experiment fails. But we will see. We must wait and see and evaluate the development.
Besides, I don't think it's right to expect an income from Steemit. If you're not heavily invested, you can't get rich by blogging. And fraud, such as for example @haejin does, should not be an option at all. But I think we will also find a solution for this problem together.

The one problem I see with #photographychallenge03 is that the challenge is likely to leave the platform covered with Steemed Vegetables .

This is precisely my criticism of every challenge. An apple is an apple, is an apple, and I think nobody will stick to Steemit because he is so happy about many apples. Always the same content in different packaging is boring. People have to stay because they come across interesting, individual articles, maybe they want to produce them themselves.
And here again the most important aspect for voting: The apple of a whale doesn't taste better than the apple of a plankton.

Warm regards,
Chriddi

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58668.45
ETH 3162.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44