6/19/2020 Entry to the Steemit Diary Game - 2020 Senior Prom!

in #the100daysofsteem4 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone! 2020 has been an interesting year to say the least. One of the things that my senior class lost was the opportunity to go to a formal senior prom. Yesterday my friends and I had our own mini prom. Because of that, this is definitely going to be the most exciting entry to write! I am sorry that it is so late, but it took a while to get the photos. I also already wrote this article once, and lost it to Steemit's editor. Before I continue with this post, I will say that I recorded the events of my junior prom in this post if you are interested in reading about that! Anyway, this year's prom was a little different because we had it in Emma's yard, and there were 7 participants. I will say that I enjoyed this prom as much as (if not more than) any of the other proms/dances I have attended. Let's get into yesterday's events!

My Life

I woke up around 10am yesterday. I think the first thing I did was shower, and watch YouTube videos. I started work on the diary entry around 11:45am, and finished around 12:30pm.

After that, I decided to play some minecraft, but I wanted to also do something productive, so I put on a 2 hour interview with Jordan Peterson. I discovered him through the Harry Potter video I included the other day, and I find his message about individual responsibility quite compelling. My favorite quote from him so far is something along the lines of:

It is better to compare yourself to you yesterday than to compare yourself to someone else today.

Here is that interview.

After that video finished, I listened to another video by Peterson.

I was very surprised at how much I actually was able to pay attention while playing bedwars. I will definitely have to employ that strategy in the future to listen to other materials.

Around 3:30pm, it was time to begin to get ready for prom. I showered again, and got into a pinstriped suit. It took me a while to tie my tie because I wanted it to look nicer than usual. I also spent a while combing my hair (for the first time in a while).

At 4:30pm, I left to pick up the soft pretzels for prom. When I got to the shop, I learned it was drive thru only, and got scared that they wouldn't have the order. Those fears were misplaced. They did have the order. I was nervous because it was raining, and I texted Emma to ask if it was still on, and she said "yes", so I drove to her house.

I got to Emma's house around 5pm, and she looked really beautiful. Her hair and makeup was done, but she was wearing casual clothes (I can imagine wanting to stay out of a dress for as long as possible). I helped her setup by hanging some lights, moving some food and drinks, and decorating. I was happy to see that it had stopped raining (almost perfectly in time!) While Emma got changed, I played the piano for her family. That was fun. I played Bach's C Major prelude since it is easy, but beautiful.

Around 5:55pm, Emma came down stairs. She really looked beautiful in her prom dress! I told her that the sparkles remind me of the stars in the sky if I were to look up at night in the great hall.

At 6pm, our friends showed up, and we all got pictures together. Get ready to look at those:

Here are some:

I would just like to state for the record that Emma thought she was taller than me on this step. (1) I am slouching in the photo. (2) I am still taller than her despite the fact that I am slouching.

After we got pictures, the others changed. They had brought a change of clothes, but I had decided not to (mainly because I didn't read Emma's text that told me to bring one). Emma and I got a selfie with her change of clothes:

Emma in her sundress and me.jpg

We ate some food, and listened to some music. I brought my party speaker that changes colors. The interesting thing about this prom is that it had music that my friends and I like. That made it quite enjoyable (especially when the classical pieces I requested came on). At some point, the guys decided to go play a game of horse.

BBall.jpg

I was doing pretty well at first, and had no letters while both of the others had three. I then got a little too cocky, and began to miss. In the end, I wound up losing. It was incredibly tragic.

After that, Emma made me take my jacket, vest, and shirt off because it was "too hot." So I had an undershirt. We then listened to some more music, and eventually played a game of charades. We did guys vs. girls, and the guys got absolutely demolished (mainly thanks to me being dead weight).

After playing charades, we played a game called heads up. The cool thing about the app is that it records videos, so here are some highlights! Sorry about the video quality :(

After playing heads up, we listened to music, and talked. We guys eventually decided to go play some more horse, and I lost again. That took us until about 9:50pm.

At 10pm the group decided to clean up and then listen to one last song. We listened to what a wonderful world in honor of our friend (@haihin1) who returned to Germany prematurely due to the covid pandemic. We slow danced for that song. What was interesting about that was it was my first time ever slow dancing. One complaint I have is that the guy's arms should go on the shoulders. I still enjoyed slow dancing none the less. I look forward to the next time I do that (which will probably be at a wedding).

If you are curious about what music I subjected my friends to, here is what I requested. I did half classical, and half modern.

In honor of Hinrich, I selected this. Here's the video of us playing it.

After that, I helped Emma clean up some more, and went home. At home, I went to bed. I was extremely tired!

I am kind of happy that this turned out being my senior prom. It was quite special, and goes to show that life continues no matter the circumstances. We did social distance most of the night, and we did have a good time most of the night. It was a fun memory, and it will forever live here on the Steem Blockchain! Thanks to the Steemit Team for giving me the opportunity to log my life here!

Again, I am sorry that this is so late. I had to wait a while for the photos, and editing that video was a challenge in itself (despite the disappointing low quality). Anyway, good night! I still have church tomorrow, and I still have to make sure I have the music down in the morning. I will post the diary after church.

Sort:  

26.PNG

26rt.PNG

26fb.PNG

26ig.jpg

Me encanto tu publicación, me alegra que hayas disfrutado tu baile de graduacion con tus mejores amigos, que hayan hecho lo que querian y que bailaron lo que mas les gusta.
Asi deberia de ser siempre que uno disfrute su dia sin poses y sin protocolos.
Escogí tu publicación como "Mi publicación favorita en el juego de diario de cada continente"
Saludos!!

@Steemitblog posted an updated activity for the Journal Game. Ask those of us who are active in the Game to select, in our opinion the top 5, one from each continent if possible.

I use a translator I hope to do it well. I chose your post, it is very beautiful. @cmp2020.

Great fun, beautiful pictures, they talk to themselves. Greetings from Venezuela.

Thank you for taking part in The Diary Game on Steem.

Definitely a prom to remember!

The Steemit Team

You have been upvoted by Steem Greeters from STEEM POD Project and we are voting with the Steemit Community Curator @steemcurator03 account. STEEM On!

While reading through, I felt it cause i am one of the class of 2020. It feels good to know that you guys didn't let the pandemic cloud your happiness.

Short girls are the cutest!!! Emma's dress is beautiful and the pictures are great!!!

Over here we don't really go to prom but we just do a graduation ceremony and when we do, I'll be sure to post mine.

Mesonia
💕💕

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55214.91
ETH 2471.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24