THE WATER MADE ME DUMB

in #the6 years ago

two-boys-playing-water-10306864.jpg
The Holliday had been unnecessarily long and
unexciting. I hadn’t envisioned it to be that way. I am
an Ibadan boy who lives in the suburbs of Ibadan. My
holiday was usually spent with my friends building kites
out of nylon and running about with pants on bare foot.
My mother’s father’s uncle’s son (figure that out) had
insisted that we spend the holiday in his place owning
to the fact that he had missed us and my mum greatly.
I barely even know him. The holidays dragged on, there
were only adults around and my 6-year-old self could
not fit their description of fun.
Finally, the weekend we were to leave for Ibadan my
dearly beloved home, Uncle Tade and his family
decided to give us a special treat by taking us to the
Badagry beach. Oh how much I love water even though
I don’t get enough of it, I usually don’t hesitate to jump
into my mum’s big bath of water any time she washes
clothes and of course, I pay dearly for it.
On this fateful day, we set out for the beach. The
previous day my big aunties bought me a short at the
market and said that’s as much as I would be needing
for the beach. When we arrived the beach, it was more
magnificent than I thought. The waters seemed to
beckon on me and instead of running into the waters
as I envisioned I clung tightly to Folake my older
cousin.
And while others played in the water, I found a
convenient spot to sit where big daddy allowed me to
stay so he could conveniently watch over me and I
watched them play in the waters.
A little while later a boy probably few years older than
me walked close to me and handed me a large coconut
with a straw in it. “What is this I inquired?” as I took
the coconut from him.
“Its coconut, can’t you see?” he said laughing.
“And why is there a straw in it” I further enquired
looking at the coconut dramatically.
“Because it’s a coconut drink and your visit here isn’t
complete without this!”
“Really?” I said as I stared at the coconut drink in my
hand. I looked around and noticed everyone was
drinking it including my sister. I remember mama telling
me several time not to drink the water from the
coconut as it makes a person dumb. But the drink in
my hand seemed so good to be true. I ignored the little
voice in me and took the drink, it was the most
heavenly thing ever. You see the boy that brought it to
me said when I told him that.
I eventually found the courage to move close to the
waters but didn’t stay long because by then we were
preparing to take our leave. We were returning to
Ibadan the next day.
On Sunday we bade big daddy and his family goodbye
as we headed for Ibadan. The journey was uneventful
as I slept almost through the journey. A dish of ‘abula’
on arrival further increased my propensity to sleep. My
sister chatted with my mum all through about how
badagry was fun and all, but all that came to my mind
was the coconut drink.
During the night I had a terrible night mare about how
my brain was being sucked into a coconut. I was afraid
it seemed so real and scary, I woke up shivering. I
don’t want to lose my brain I cried silently.
The next day was Monday, dad insisted that we go to
school. I was unusually scared of school.
At school Miss Alice appeared before us with her face
ever beaming with smile. I’m so happy to see you all
again. I missed you greatly. Anybody want to tell us
how they spent their holiday. Hands shot up in the air.
Except mine, I was scared I won’t remember a thing
about the holiday. Sewa spoke about how her father
took her to the village for a traditional wedding
ceremony and that it was that she enjoyed the village
very much. After everybody had clapped for her, aunty
further asked if anybody was willing to tell us the
number of days spent on the holiday. I was the class
mathematician, almost the class accountant, not that I
was exceptionally brilliant, it was just my business to
take note of things. So all eyes turned to me. I was
frozen with fear; I couldn’t remember 2+2.
“Ade since the class chose you would you like to tell
us.” Miss Alice said
I went blank as I held my head in my palm, “what is
wrong Ade?” Miss Alice said with her sweet soothing
voice.
I said sobbing, I drank coconut water, the water made
me dumb, I can’t remember a think. Miss Alice stared
deeply into my face trying hard to conceal the laughter
that was welling up inside her. “Whoever told you that?
A coconut drink could doesn’t do that. Okay let us
prove you wrong, you know it and you’re going to give
a right answer to it.” She said trying to calm me down.
“Okay what is today’s date?” she asked. I answered
correctly. “when did you leave for the holiday?” once
again I gave the right answer. “how many days make a
month?” I told her. “So now let’s do the sum of the
days spent on holiday together” she said, and before
we could finish I came up with an answer. “You’re right
Ade!” She exclaimed. What relief that remark brought
to me! The class applauded me, at that moment I felt
like a star.
“You see Ade coconut water can’t make you dumb”
miss Alice said with a smile on her face. I didn’t need
to be told, I know that too well now! I smiled as I sat
down, anticipating my next visit to badagry beach.
Have you ever had phobia for drinking coconut water?
Please share your experience in the comment section.
Thanks for reading.

Sort:  

Congratulations @kayboy36! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hi. I am @greetbot - a bot that uses AI to look for newbies who write good content.
I found your post and decided to help you get noticed.
I will pay a resteeming service to resteem your post,
and I'll give you my stamp of automatic approval!
greetbot's stamp of approval

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
The resteem was payed by @greetbot
Curious?
The @resteembot's introduction post
Get more from @resteembot with the #resteembotsentme initiative
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66761.99
ETH 3256.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27