The Long Wait

in #the-steemititians6 years ago (edited)

cat-3092649__480.jpg

This is an entry for a poetry contest organised by @lordjames

He provided the first stanza and first three lines of the second stanza.

Let me know what you think at the end of it.

Another day, another night
The church signboard stood
It directs people to go meet God
While they received salvation
It stood rusting in the rain

When will my day come
Another just passed
But the great wait continues
Like the members at the altar
Who wait on God for deliverance

My patience is gradually growing thin
Like the rat I saw in church last week
With beggarly eyes, hungry for bread
I kicked that rat aside
Oh God, don't kick me aside

I've given away all my money
I laid half on the altar as seed
And the other to the sick girl in church
Then I trekked home, chanting confessions
While the sun encouraged me with heat

I must confess I'm not the same
Something must have changed within
Because I find the strength to move on
Because you're always in charge
I know you're preparing my banquet

And when I've got my money right
And I've felt the divine light
I'll shine my light so bright
To help remove other people's plight
And help the weak to take flight

Pixabay provided the picture

Sort:  

Beautiful, just beautiful. Edit the third line in the last stanza. Am sure it is a mistake.

I'll will...

Thanks

Will have it corrected

Nice one Bro.

I liked the switch to rhyme in the final stanza. To me it kind of symbolized a change in perspective. I also liked the contemplation present throughout the poem. None of us have all the answers and faith, whether in a deity or lack thereof, is a constant struggle fought both within and without. Nice write.

Thanks a lot @moeknows

Yes, the switch was intentional. Wanted something dramatic but had to settle for that.

I'm actually on the other side. Used the religious flow because it was already present in the lines provided.

It's grand to have you around

You're welcome.

I'm actually on the other side.

I know, that's why I mentioned the lack thereof. One can be sure that there is no god and still wrestle with the implications of that belief in the same way that a believer in God could.

Sir i follow you and you follow me and comment in my new post

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58049.95
ETH 3128.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.21