I was one of the Steemit Hack Victims, I didn’t get mad I got STEEM’ED!

in #the-hack8 years ago (edited)

"Hello this is edreno, I'm posting this letter for my friend streetstyle who is still unable to access his steem account"

First, let me start off by saying that the team at Steemit has got it together. They took immediate action and provided vital communication to the users locked out of their accounts due to this breach. I am not aware of the details of the breach, but I believe I might have helped prevent the theft of my Steem funds (Steem, Steem Power, and maybe some Steem Dollars) by having remained logged in to my account during the breaching. 

Fortunately for me, I was on steemit.com, but got called away from my computer to do some work. I didn’t log off my Steemit account thinking that I would be back very soon. Awhile later I decided to log on to Steemit from my iPhone but was unable to do so. I attempted a few more times but was unsuccessful. I immediately began to worry. I noticed that the site was still up, so I looked up my account on my phone and was able to see my wallet, with all the Steem still there. 

Seeing that my account was still growing rather than having shrunk and everything appearing normal on the Steemit site, I let out a sigh of relief. I proceeded about my business and when I returned back to my apartment, I realized I was still logged on to my Steemit account. I could see others were too when I looked on steemstream.com, a new website that shows the live transactions of the Steem Network.

At this point the Steemit website must have been in the works of shutting down because I was not able to access many parts of SteemIt. Finally, it logged me out, and the site shut down for rebuilding. Thats when I received an email from Steemit that there had been a breach, but that NO FUNDS had been lost. That was a relief.

Now that the site is mostly back to running normal, I am saddened that I am not able to log on to my account yet. I see others are now back on the site but I am not able to log on to my account, and instead receive a message stating that Steemit is going to build a special logon portal for my account, since it was one of the accounts breached. Although I did nothing wrong, let this be a reminder to us all about strong online security measures for our accounts, especially those having cryptocurrency.

So at this point I am having Steemit withdrawals, and it hasn’t even been 5 days since I first created my account. I have already made my first purchase of Steem. After completing my Steem purchases, I then proceeded to buy Steem Power realizing the true potential that lies within SP. I am in this for the long haul and what better way to demonstrate my belief in the future of Steem than by investing in some Steem Power. If you understand anything about interest, compound interest and EXPONENTIAL growth, then you will know why what I term as the “quick” value is in Steem, but the True “EXPLOSIVE” Value lies with Steam Power! Steem will most likely make quick gains in value, and will be easy to exchange. Steem Power and it’s Explosive value will come in the form of the “Snowball effect,” due to exponential interest growth. We’ll leave the details of this for another Article. 

So now as I anxiously wait for the issues to be resolved with my account, I do want to let this community  know that Steemit and its employees have all been great during this ordeal. They have provided support and information throughout this ordeal. Most importantly, no funds were lost of any of the compromised accounts. In fact, this incident and how well it was tended to, has furthered my resolve with Steem and its Paradigm shift. I have since exposed steemit.com to more people, who in turn have also invested in Steem and Steem Power and are also making others aware that this meme of Decentralization has now officially hit social media. Watch out Facebook! Lookout Youtube! See it coming Instagram? Hear it Roaring tweeter?? It’s 

FULL $TEEM AHEAD!! ======> www.steemit.com 

by Streetstyle

ps. I want to thank edreno for posting this story for me since my account is still locked out. (i’ll be back)

I also want to thank Ned and the rest of the team at Steemit, as well as Dan and the rest of the 

team at Blocktrades.Us

Sort:  

Thumbs up for a positive well written account

Yes this was a good story and it shows how much the poster wants to get back on again since he had a friend post it! People are really loving Steemit and this post shows a certain calmness and long term thought process that is very encouraging.

what this proves is that the Steem guys really know what they are doing. This is a total killer app and will prove that Facebook and Reddit and any other social experiment is now old hat. The future of social media, secure and from people who care about the content and the people and are not in the pockets of the establishment. Glad it all worked out, nice work Steem Team. ;)

Yes, the Steem Team is on point!

Tanks for the hands upp mate, great post.

Thank you your your post, Great Post!

I was a victim of the hack as well, but I have not been locked out of my account. I just can't transfer funds or anything. The hacker even initiated a Power Down of my Steem Power, which I am also unable to cancel. 5 days and counting until my Steem Powers down and the thief can steal that also. I hope the problem is resolved soon, because I am unable to change my account password either at the moment. So once this Powers Down the hacker can come right back in and steal from me again. :0(

Wait, I'm confused. Are you now able to access your account or not? is there a way to get back access? I've been asking around, posting and looking for options since yesterday. Not a single reply yet.

hello g-ohm, yes I finally got access today.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58098.46
ETH 3134.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38