You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: God, I hate Thanksgiving.

in #thanksgiving7 years ago

One year I was visiting Bioware, Inc. in Edmonton, AB Canada and I happened to be there in October when they have their Thanksgiving. I actually encountered it twice in one year, yet I don't know if the reason for the Canadian Thanksgiving is the same as that of the U.S.

Though I do often have a different reason to celebrate Thanksgiving on some years. I happened to have been born on Thanksgiving day and once in awhile my birthday still falls on Thanksgiving. It doesn't all of the time due to the fact Thanksgiving is a roving Thursday rather than being an actual set date. :)

So some years it is my birthday, and I do enjoy the food for Thanksgiving more than cake, so I like those years.

That does not qualify this year.

Sort:  

That's actually really cool that you got to visit Bioware. I'm a big fan of their older games up until they were bought out by Electronic Arts!

Being born on Thanksgiving can certainly be stressful. It's not a "cool" holiday like Halloween or Guy Fawkes Day.

Could be worse though, you could have been born on Christmas. I mean then you always get those combination Christmas/birthday presents. Must be awful!

It kind of sucked when I was at a kid. As an adult I really like it because the food is more to my liking than cake and such. :)

And yes I interviewed for a Multiplayer Technical Designer position for a game called Dragon Age: Origins (old game now) and they flew me and my wife there. I had a good chance of getting the job, but as you may have notices DA:O didn't actually end up having multiplayer so the position disappeared. I worked with them on the final Neverwinter Nights 1.69 patch and I was told I should apply for some other positions and I'd found out if I took the job I could potentially lose custody to my kids from my first marriage if I moved that far so I chose not to pursue it. My kids are adults now and I'm glad I didn't. I still make games but I do it on my own time schedule and I make what I want. That makes me happy. It is more a side job/hobby as I do have a full time job as a Network Engineer.

I have fond memories of playing DA:O when it came out! Shame about the scrapped multiplayer, but it sounds like it really worked out for the best with your kids.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63658.03
ETH 3299.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90