Tomb Sweeping Fest 2018 #1 🎉 [D-VLOG]

in #thailand6 years ago (edited)


Tomb Sweeping Day

'The celebrants will have an opportunity to remember and honour their ancestors at the grave sites. On this day, they sweep the tombs, pray for the ancestors and offer them food and libations.' - Friday English Facebook Page

This one is going to be another Chinese belief so viewer discretion required.

As I mentioned before on a Could we change our luck? post , a part of me is Chinese.My family believe and still keep the Chinese culture quite a bit and 'Tomb sweeping day' is one of them.

I found it might be interesting to share with you all here so here you go..

'Tomb sweeping days' or 'Cheng Meng Days' are a few days in every year according to Chinese calendar, we have a family reunion. We remind ourselves of our ancestors, go to the graveyard to clean and decorate the tomb. Then we share a big meal, like, really big! among all. Totally not a sad day to recall all those memories of people who passed away but more like family come have some fun together and update their lives.

What we usually do:

  • Offer ancestors food and libations.
  • Burn papers (which imagined to be many different stuffs like, car, clothes, money) in order to send them to the ancestors.

  • Go to a temple and make merit.

  • Go to the tomb, clean and decorate it with flowers and colourful sprinkles.

This year we somehow, randomly made the logo 'Supreme' with our grandpa's name. It's kinda fun playing and decorate it with these colourful flowers. The worst thing here is, it's super freakin' hot!

If you look at it, there're 2 names on the tomb. One is my grandpa's (Passed) and the other which is all read still is my grandma's (Alive). The tomb's been built for both of them so in order my grandma pass, they can be together once again ❤ ❤

Which I hope it's not gonna be so soon. I need at least another 20 years with her. 。◕‿◕。

  • Light firecrackers.
  • Go home and eat some more!

❤ ❤ ❤ PREVIOUS VLOGS ❤ ❤ ❤

BIKE/BOAT/RIVER/MUSEUM - Bangkok random vlog
https://d.tube/v/waybeyondpadthai/qqim2ywy

DTubers hangout ! X MYNDNOW
https://d.tube/v/waybeyondpadthai/xi8180il

Phrapathommachedi street food tour #1
https://d.tube/v/waybeyondpadthai/2a2pmhic


I casually travel, eat, b-vlog and repeat. Join me on the foodie journey!

㋡ FOLLOW @WAYBEYONDPADTHAI

ONE LOVE DTUBE DISCORD

WANDERLUSTERS-THAILAND DISCORD

Stay healthy. Eat good food. xoxo.
STEEMIT SMALL.pngsmall - onelovedtube .pngSMALL.png


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I'm glad it's a happy occasion to honor your ancestors. It's funny when your family gets annoyed by you filming. 555

Don't judge each day by the harvest you reap but by the seeds that you plant.

55555555 so funny you noticed those. They're actually not exactly annoyed. Some of them are just to shy to be filmed.

I respect your tradition, but having a fest its not something that I could ever do. Thank you for uploading your video and thumbs UP.

I kinda love it just a part we get to see our family one more time in a year and lots of lots of food ! :D :D

As mentioned, viewer discretion required as I know this is totally not a common belief for all nationalities. It's pretty Chinese, I would say :) Thank you for checking it out. ❤ ❤❤❤

oh my goodness....I just woke up and seeing all that food makes me even hungrier. LOL

I'm always happy making people hungry :P

Then you need to feed us too! Haha

Really entertaining video! Lots of fun to watch :-)

Thanks for always supporting @baumgartl ❤❤

Hey! We didn't know about this tradition. As you said, it's in the Chinese calendar (which we don't really follow), so great to learn more about this through your video. Hope you're keeping well Mo :D

Thanks for checking it out and glad you've learned something new from this! ❤ ❤

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57340.70
ETH 3072.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37