Paying respect to the King at cinemas in Thailand is compulsory

in #thailand5 years ago (edited)

To all Thai people this is just something that they have always grown up with. For me when I first went to a Bangkok theater nearly 20 years ago it was a bit of a surprise to me: In the middle of the previews and advertisements that take place before every movie a homage to the King of Thailand comes on and a message in English appears next to the Thai script.

I don't remember what the actual statement is but it is something along the lines of "Please stand up and pay respect to His Majesty, the King of Thailand."

I don't mind doing this. The song itself is quite lovely and it is only about 90 seconds long. A bunch of heart-warming images of the current King and the much-beloved, recently passed King come up on the screen. I have been in cinemas in the past where a group of foreigners did not stand up right away and theater ushers came and made them do so. There is a very good reason for this and those foreigners should consider themselves lucky that the ushers did come and "make them" stand up.


source

Although not standing at a theater is a minor offense and it is very unlikely that any sort of punishment would be doled out to a group of unknowing foreigners who may not have even been looking at the screen when the request came up, this country holds the Royal Family in the absolute highest regard. Lese majeste is no joke here and while a royal pardon or reduction in sentence is likely to occur, these cases are very open-and-shut. Basically, you do NOT want to find yourself as a defendant in such a case. Even if you are pardoned you will without question be permanently banned for ever returning to Thailand.


source

I think there are a lot of differences between Thais and westerners and our notions of the royal families that exist in Europe are considerably less devotional than that of the Thai people. When Thai people hear about people publicly defacing images of the English Royal Family it is something unfathomable. I find the public's unfaltering love for the Royal Family endearing and after all, it really isn't interfering with your life very much to have to put down your popcorn for 90 seconds and watch a nice montage of pictures accompanied by a rather lovely song.

Although this warning isn't really necessary for a vast majority of people who would probably be respectful anyway, not to mention the fact that you WILL be reprimanded by theater staff for not complying, just do it. The best-case scenario an offender will face is being kicked out of the theater without a refund - worst case scenario is significantly worse.

Sort:  

I remember when I was in in Thailand the first time in the movies.

Was Batman the Dark Knight. Everybody stands up and I just went with masses and stood up as well.

A group of farangs kept sitting till a couple of people screamed pretty aggressive to stand up, what they did then.

The worst scenario would be probably chased down the street by a whole mall

That is an interesting fact that I didn't know. I had no idea the Royal family was such a big thing there. If you are in a foreign country you should always abide by their rules as it would be stupid and disrespectful not to.

I remember my first movie a few years back after moving to Bangkok. After living in China for a while I was pleasantly suprised that most of the movies was in English. And they had good popcorn!

I was running a little late and just after taking a seat, everyone stood up. I promptly set down the popcorn and coke, rising to attention.

This was just after the King had passed away and we were all still wearing black and white, in respect of his passing.

I actually like the song they sing and sometimes catch myself humming it a little to loud.

Posted using Partiko Android

I too think the song is lovely and the photo montage is actually quite touching. I can't imagine why anyone would have a problem with complying.

Wow dude I didn’t know this. Is this only for Thai movies?

Well. All films playing in Thai theaters.

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow...I did not know this. I'll have to write this down just in case

Dear gooddream:

We are SteemBet, the next generation STEEM based gaming platform. We are honored to invite you to join our first fantastic dice game, which is just the beginning of SteemBet game series. Our dividend system has now launched. The prize pool has already accumulated 2,000 STEEM and more than 60 players have participated in staking mining token SBT. A huge reward of 40,000 STEEM is awaiting! Join us NOW with other 500 STEEM users to loot HUGE dividend reward!!

SteemBet Team

Official Website
https://steem-bet.com

Discord Server
https://discord.gg/95cBN3W

Telegram Group
https://t.me/steembet

In South East Asian countries from Cambodia to Java, we have the concept of Deva Raja or God King. Wikipedia explains it better: https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Devaraja

Posted using Partiko Android

Very nice and understanding post! Many thanks.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I didn't knew about this thing at all, here in India, there's always our national anthem being played with the flag picture on the screen before the movie starts.
I guess different countries have different rules for their entertainment zonal too!
But there was a little query, Forcing people to stand on such stuff and pay homage is against democracy?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66745.34
ETH 3326.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71