5 English Expressions that Confuse Students

in #thai6 years ago

๕คำพูดปกติที่ทำให้นักเรียนภาษาอังกฤษงง
what.jpg

How have you been? = How are you?


Asking, "How are you?", is sometimes too basic of a question for native speakers, but it seems that asking, "How have you been?", confuses some students of English because the Present Perfect tense doesn't exist in their language. เวลาถามคนไทยแบบนี้ผมสังเกตว่าพวกเขางงหลายรอบแต่ "How've you been?" แปลว่าชีวิตคุณเป็นยังไงบ้าง?

What's up? = How are you? (Most of the time)


When I ask some people, "What's up?" I've noticed they think they've annoyed me or something negative, but it just means we are asking about your life or situation. If said with an aggressive tone and body language, then it means we are angry. (It's hard to know this if it's a text message.) ตามปกติ "What's up?" แปลว่า ว่าไงครับ? แต่ถ้าเราพูดเหมือนโกรธมันแปลว่าทำแบบนี้ทำไมวะ?

Lost my touch = My Skills have decreased


I've told my students before that I've lost my touch and they told me that my fingers are fine. Losing your touch just means you are not as good as before. ถ้าคนต่างชาติบอกคุณว่า "You've lost your touch." มันแปลว่าคุณไม่เก่งเหมือนเดิม

Under the weather = Sick


I remember telling someone that I was under the weather and their reply was something like, but we have the air conditioning on. ถ้ามีคนต่างชาติบอกคุณว่า "I'm feeling under the weather." มันแปลว่าผมรู้สึกไม่สบายนิดนิด
sick.jpg

Look Smart = Look Good


I'm an American and we don't really use this expression, so when a British person complimented that I was smart, my response was something like, you don't even know me and I haven't said anything yet. ถ้าคนอังกฤษบอกคุณว่า "You look smart." มันแปลว่าคุณดูเท่ไม่เกี่ยวกับความฉลาด
007.jpg

Resources:

Sort:  

Under the weather's reply made me lol :))

I appreciate your post. It's very useful for Thai.

Congratulations @teachinthai! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

I like to learn english...thank you very much

ด้วยความยินดีนะครับ. I used to work for a company/school which ห้ามผมและนักเรียนพูดภาษาไทย, but here on Steemit, we have freedom to do it our way! Thank you for resteeming my post @lalita

Nice post! ;)

Thank you so much.
Wow, I like to know the special sentence like this. Please keep writing😊

Today some whales liked my post, gave me more $$$ than I've ever made, my rank went from 37 to 41, but your comment to please keep writing was the best. Thank you @katto. I wish I could upvote you more than just five cents.

Congratulation!! You are lucky!
and Thank you very much.

@therealwolf 's created platform smartsteem scammed my post this morning (mothersday) that was supposed to be for an Abused Childrens Charity. Dude literally stole from abused children that don't have mothers ... on mothersday.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@prometheusrisen/beware-of-smartsteem-scam

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63914.63
ETH 2664.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77